We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, incredible value”
Review of Mancora

Mancora
Reserve with OpenTable
Mancora is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,213 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: 6 & 7 street
Transit: F train (at 2nd avenue, Bus M15.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, incredible value”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We ate a lot of great meals in NYC, but this was by far the best - as well as the cheapest. Tender roast chicken, sweet plaintains to die for ... everything we ordered was delicious. It's in a great location as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We tried a bunch of different dishes and split everything and all of it was really good and the prices were not very high for the location! Trey the anticuchos!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Peruvian cuisine in the East Village, great service, great value and a relaxed environment”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I took two friends and colleagues here for a memorable evening meal here and I will definitely come back next time I'm in New York. I have had my fair share of excellent Peruvian cuisine, having lived in Peru, travelled there frequently to see family. This place definitely did justice to all of the dishes we tasted. My two fellow companions were equally impressed, one having never had Peruvian food and the other having only come to Mancora previously to eat chicken and chips. There is much more to it than that!

I ordered a bunch of dishes to share. To start with we had the papa a la huancaina (delicately spiced sauce with perfect texture and colour) and the anticuchos (really juicy and tender, with a delicious sauce). Then we shared a snapper ceviche (beautifully fresh, citrusy and spicy) and moved on to share the aji de gallina and a seco nortena, both dishes done perfectly. All this washed down with a few crisp pisco sours. The only thing we could fit in for dessert was the ice cream and the lucuma and chirimoya were a hit.

The service was impeccable and stylish and the bill was extremely reasonable. It was also an entirely down to earth and unpretentious place, we could have stayed all night.

A meal to remember and a great address to know.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A taste of Peru”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

While on a bus tour, our guide pointed out this restaurant. The sign said "Peruvian Barbeque". We always like to try new places so off we went. The food was very different but very good. We tried the ceviche dish, the roasted chicken and "Tiger's Milk". All very good and moderately priced. A good recommendation.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank tshook80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichen Itza, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic food for good value”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

A Peruvian colleague introduced me to this restaurant, where we went out with some friends for dinner. The place was very fun with music and quite a crowd on Saturday night. I had a special and a dessert. We shared a variety of desserts, all of which were great, especially the picarones (sort of like funnel cake in honey syrup). Everyone enjoyed their food. Low prices. $5 sangria. Good seafood. Attentive staff.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetoswim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mancora also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing