We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and acceptable food”
Review of Le Souk

Le Souk
Ranked #7,221 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $11 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun and acceptable food”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My first problem was that the seats are regular height but the tables are low so seating is awkward and uncomfortable. The other issue was that they were out of half the wine list and some of the dishes..and this was on a THursday night. Service was inattentive but the food was very decent although the lamb sausages were too chewy. The trio of appetizers were hit and miss but the salmon dishes were acceptable..
THe belly dancer was fun to watch for a unique experience. It isnt a place I would return to

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debralynn108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    15
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

First time experience with the entire Moroccan experience. Got a special for a five course meal for two including Hookah. What a great time we had. The staff was attentive, food and music was good. It was a great escape!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but not what I expected”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose this venue to celebrate my mother-in-laws 60th birthday. We had researched restaurants with a ride variety of food and ambience (moroccan was the theme). We looked for a place with a belly dancer and good reviews. Let me first say, that it is not exactly a restaurant. It is more of a lounge. We were seated on sofas, which wasn't bad if you were having a drink, but to eat your meal, it was a bit awkward. The food was fantastic, although we went to this restaurant specifically because online they stated they had lobster - they did not. They also only presented us with the pre-fix menu and we had to ask for the a-la-carte menu which they seemed resistant to offer up. The food was however excellent, but the bar did not offer several items such as flavored vodkas or specialty drinks. They did make the birthday celebration exciting by offering a sparkler and singing "happy birthday" but the belly dancer made her way to our part of the place only once, and that was the end of it. We have been to many places where the dancers circulate many times, and this was not the case. Overall, it was great food - just not what we expected as far as ambience. The music was also too loud to have conversation, it could have been turned down just a tad and been much more enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, fun ambience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Trendy ambience. Food was excellent. I am a very healthy eater and there were lots of great choices, both vegetarian and meat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hookah”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Wondefully intimate Hookah bar with great belly-dancing entertainment and middle-eastern style food! Would love to go back just for the Hookah!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Souk also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing