We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food! Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Reserve with OpenTable
La Palapa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,598 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: 6 train to Astor Place, R train to 8th Street/NYU, F train to 2nd Avenue, and L train to 14th Street.
Description: La Palapa combines authentic Mexican home cooking with a festive bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere which makes for the perfect place to dine or celebrate any occasion! We specialize in "Mexico City style" tacos and quesadillas and regional home cooking. Our menu includes such dishes as Tacos al Pastor, Mole Negro Oaxaqueno, Salsa Pibil and many other specialties from different regions of Mexico. Our Margaritas are all made with fresh juices and are delicious, especially when you add house made hibiscus aqua fresca and a chile-piquin salted rim! We have many flavors from the traditional fresh lime to mango, blood-orange, ginger, tamarind, wild blueberry and more! Refreshing Mexican beer cocktails, such as the Michelada and the Chelada are even given special attention at La Palapa. We also have an extensive tequila selection, cocktail and beer menu. La Palapa is available for catering on or off premise. We specialize in creating menus for private parties and events.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had an early dinner here to celebrate a birthday and the food was great. The birthday boy was pleased! Would definitely recommend for Mexican food in NYC. Our service was great too. When we arrived, there were not many there as it was an early dinner, but by the time we left it was filling up quickly! I was a little nervous about ordering as I personally did not know what some of the things on the menu were, however our waitress went above and beyond to ensure we knew what we were ordering. She happily answered any and all questions with a smile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smctlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Engagement Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had brunch for 35 people to celebrate our daughter's upcoming nuptials. Fabulous friendly service. Great food. Heartily recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne and Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AWESOME MEXICAN FOOD! And the drinks are really good/fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Please, please, please do yourself a favor and try this place! The outdoor seating area is perfect, but the food and drinks are even better.

DRINKS
The bartenders really know what they're doing. The specialty drinks are really fun to try and we have yet to find one we don't love. Chile salt on the rim of the glass, jalapeno muddling, etc. A pitcher of the regular margaritas for $28 is a must (to share, of course). Do go in with a little patience, though. The bar is very busy and drinks usually take 10-12 minutes... order your first round as soon as you sit down!

FOOD
Poblano pepper queso fundido. Yes. Amazing. Think cheese and poblano pepper soft tacos!
Corn quesadillas rock! Sweet corn and cheese. Delicious.
Least favorite taco is the steak taco (a little dry), but the chicken, corn, fish, etc. tacos are all amazing!

Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Good Mexican cuisine this side of the border”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant was chosen by friends we were staying with in NY. We were all for going to a real Mexican restaurant that's not just Tex-Mex. We sat in the back, where the walls had illuminated cutouts with pottery displays and festively colored papercut banners strung across the ceilings. Overall lighting was dim and low, intimate ambience, good for romantic outings. The pistachio encrusted fish was delicious. The caramel custard light and fluffy, although not the best I'd had (not creamy enough). While the food wasn't quite as good as what you could get in Mexico City (and more expensive too of course), it was probably the best we've had so far this side of the border.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Creative Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My niece made us reservations and we were ever happy! The service was spot on from the time we were brought hot towels to clean our hands when we sat down to the last morsel of food!

I'm not a fan of Mexican food, but everyone else was and I didn't mind trying it out. I had the most amazing Mexican meal of my life. I ordered the grilled duck breast with mole and it came with red tomato rice and swiss chard. Wow, just wow! The duck was soft and tender, the rice was flavorful and the swiss chard cooked to perfection. Who knew Mexican food could be this creative? Everyone's meal was mouth watering and excellent!

Did I mention the Margarita's? BIG and delish!

Make a night of it and give it a try!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigglebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing