We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margaritas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palapa

La Palapa
Reserve with OpenTable
La Palapa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,768 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: 6 train to Astor Place, R train to 8th Street/NYU, F train to 2nd Avenue, and L train to 14th Street.
Description: La Palapa combines authentic Mexican home cooking with a festive bar and a warm and friendly atmosphere which makes for the perfect place to dine or celebrate any occasion! We specialize in "Mexico City style" tacos and quesadillas and regional home cooking. Our menu includes such dishes as Tacos al Pastor, Mole Negro Oaxaqueno, Salsa Pibil and many other specialties from different regions of Mexico. Our Margaritas are all made with fresh juices and are delicious, especially when you add house made hibiscus aqua fresca and a chile-piquin salted rim! We have many flavors from the traditional fresh lime to mango, blood-orange, ginger, tamarind, wild blueberry and more! Refreshing Mexican beer cocktails, such as the Michelada and the Chelada are even given special attention at La Palapa. We also have an extensive tequila selection, cocktail and beer menu. La Palapa is available for catering on or off premise. We specialize in creating menus for private parties and events.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Margaritas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Best Margaritas in Manhattan. I recommend the Peach. Plus you're on St. Marks Pl which is great to people watch and get a feel for the real NYC. It's not very touristy.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Estepier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in the East Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Wow, what a great restaurant! Don't go here if you need quiet. But, absolutely do go if you are looking for some great Mexican food in a friendly, boisterous atmosphere. I had the Arrachera al Tequila con Jalapenos Torreados (skirt steak marinated in tequila and lime) and my dining companion had the soft corn tortilla tacos. We also ordered the tortilla chips with salsa and guacamole as an appetizer and split a frozen margarita. Everything was delicious and we will be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ways2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/AZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Frozen Margariiiiiiiitaaaaasssss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

La Palapa's has the BEST frozen Margaritas!!! Try the Blood Orange. They coat the rim with hot chilli powder! Amazing!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulously creative Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

What a find! This little gem of a place served up the most delicious food from one course to the next. Nothing was "the usual", rather the range of ingredients as noted on the menu was absolutely intriguing. The dishes lived up to the billing. The menu was also very vegetarian friendly...even a vegan platter.! the service as well was terrific!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Noisy middle of the road Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

La Palapa is a reliable and relatively inexpensive Mexican restaurant in the heart of the East Village. Service is professional and friendly, food is good but not great, and the crowd is loud and young. A fun destination place for a group, but not a great place for a romantic dinner or when you are hoping for some serious conversation! The food highlight for me was the queso - very tasty!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookistan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to La Palapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing