We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flavors!!! A lot of them!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prune

Prune
Ranked #876 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Village
Jundiai, SP
Level Contributor
125 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Flavors!!! A lot of them!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I'm from Brazil, so sweetbreads are not common there, and here was my first time. Amazing, definitely! My wife's lamb was perfectly cooked and seasoned and my pork was excellent.
Very good service, though my waitress didn't feel the joy when i asked her to choose my dish...
I would come back eventually.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jujumassoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    101
    18
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth another visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went there for a late dinner so there wasn't a wait for a table. The food was good. The service was alright, everyone was pleasant and friendly. I enjoyed the Mascarpone Ice Cream dessert best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JitterCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Waiting too long for something OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The place is famous for the brunch, so we went there. And we waited and waited. And, after waiting, we waited some more. And then, we we thought the waiting was done, we waited some more. And no, I'm not just repeating myself, I'm talking about hours in front of it. The huge problem however, was not just to wait - but wait for something not worth that much time. The food is good, but not that good. The place is very small with tables and chairs everywhere they can fit.
I'd say it is a good place to go if you could just get there, sit and eat - but you can't. And you can find things just as good in bigger and comfortable places where you don't have to wait for hours. In my opinion, there's too much talking because of the owner (apparently some name in the food business), but, hey, I don't eat names, so I'll give it 2/5.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Totally overrated for brunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were 20 min before the opening hours in front of the restaurant and had to cue up a bit. Usually a cue in front if a restaurant is a good sign, but in this case it wasn't.

The Restaurant
It is easy to find with its pink entrance. The room itself is rather small and fully packed with tables.

Staff
The Staff was friendly and helpful

Food
We were there for the "famous" brunch. The so called smooth omelet which i hade was a joke. Even i can do it better. No spice at all and the presentation was not "Big Apple" like. I also ordered "The Hot Chocolate". It was rather warm than hot and the hot chocolate we had during my "army service" was 10 times better.

My Girlfriend had the "Granola". Also this dish you can do it better by your own. Only bananas on the top (no other fruits), badly presented and the flavor was only ok.

Value
The price for what you get is just to high. Don't go there, New York has much more to offer than PRUNE.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karo8032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute, good and a line-up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pretty good food, nothing mind blowing. We got the ricotta small plate; (the ricotta was a little dry) the biscuits were delicious. My clam omlette was simple and good. I didnt think the clam would be fried, but it was. The service was prompt and the seating really tight. Get there early to be in the first seating, tho no alcohol til noon on sunday...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tenoclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prune also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Prune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing