We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAUTION!!”
Review of Pylos

Pylos
Reserve with OpenTable
Pylos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #461 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East Village
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“CAUTION!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My jacket,scarf and leather gloves were stolen from the coat rack while I was eating at the common table. Mgmt could have cared less.

Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    109
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The hague
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Incredible Greek cuisine, wonderful (Greek!) wine -- great atmosphere. Authentic, absolutely worth every penny. Only reason for giving Pylos 4 and not 5 stars, is because it seemed like the waiter wanted us gone. We got the bill without asking for it, and I barely started enjoying my dessert wine. That kind of killed the atmosphere for me and my date. However, everything was great up til that moment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Class /Great Food/Great Service!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant in New York. The food was good just like the last time we were there and cooked just as we ordered. The staff is friendly and you can share your entree if you fill up on the wonderful greek melted cheese to start with. Reservations are suggested especially this time of year. Romantic,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best of the weekend”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent Thanksgiving weekend in NYC and dined at several fabulous spots. Pylos was easily a favorite. We selected the short ribs, striped bass, and baby lamb as recommended by our easygoing server. All were terrific and the short ribs were truly exceptional. The decor is trendy and attractive. There is a bit more space between tables than at many NYC restaurants, but you'll still hear your neighbors' conversations. Our meal of two shared appetizers, one $30 bottle of wine, and four entrees was about $50 each. We considered that very reasonable given the quality and quantity of food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmk4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greek perfection!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was an amazing meal. One of the best I had in a long time. Not over priced at all. You are going to love it. I strongly suggest this restaurant!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pylos also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pylos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing