We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Pylos

Pylos
Reserve with OpenTable
Pylos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #462 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: East Village
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Found by reading the reviews here, we went to Pylos in East Village without a reservation. First offered the “community table”, the hostess said that we would need to wait “at least” 10 minutes to get a table. I have surely waited way longer just to get fast food! And as she said, 10 minutes later, we had a nice corner table. The menu is hard to pick from: everything looks so delicious. We started with some dolmathes avgolemono (so yummy!) and then we had 1 moussaka, 1 lavraki me tsigarellia (pistachio crusted bass), and 1 brizola (steak/fries). All entrees were perfectly sized and cooked, and tasted authentic. Our waiter was very attentive, and you could feel in the dining room that it was a place far enough from the touristic areas that the patrons were mostly New Yorkers. Amazing that a greek restaurant made the top-ten list of all the restaurants in NYC, not so amazing after we ate there: that place is awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    109
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

High quality of the food, high service and low price.
What else?

The best in my 15 vacation days in USA

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yamas! It was yummy!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hitting a greek restaurant with a Greek is always dicey (never as good as Mum makes...) but honestly our meal was fantastic. We had the lamb chops and they tasted just like they came from the family taverna. Highly recommend this restaurant - ensure you make reso's as it's always busy. Break out and try the wine from Greece - honestly their wine list has some great bottles. Portions are large, so hold yourself back , you want to ensure that you save room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineRunsWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice Greek food, not too pricey.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'm Greek myself and I wasn't expecting to find this nice Greek food in New York. And importantly, the food at Pylos wasn't too expensive. All the dishes that we had were excellent. Another Greek restaurant that we tried in NYC was Avra. Also excellent Greek food, but bit more expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a little bit of Greece”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The atmosphere is wonderful, great decor with the jugs on the ceiling, my little son was in awe of this the whole evening. The staff very attentive and food was tasty and good portions. The price was reasonable and would recommend this as a family venue

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 961IanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pylos also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pylos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing