We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of wd~50 - CLOSED

wd~50
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Stanton + Rivington
Transit: F Train to Delancey, JMZ to Essex
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Everyone must try this place at least once. Even if you not into molecular gastronomy, it is such and interesting experience Expensive food, small portion but staff was great and I had a wonderful experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bao D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    69
    45
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
590 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Excellent dishes, a very low-key atmosphere, but...”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We chose the 155 tasting menu of many small courses. We have eaten at El Bulli twice and Thierry Marx in Paris and are well-versed foodies. Everything was excellent but the portions so small and the list of ingredients so long that I found it difficult to get all the tastes in your mouth at once.
It is a low key place with no poshness at all, no sterling silver etc, the waitstaff in jeans. The wine-pairing costs 95 and there were some very striking and good choices. One we did not like was the Loire white but it was replaced immediately. however the waiter stood by his guns and claimed it was supposed to taste that way. Sorry, do not agree and I know my wines. but he was perfectly professional and pleasant so if ever something does not strike your fancy do speak up.
As mentioned above my criticism is the long list of ingredients on each dish, some of them just a few flakes of food...And personally I do not like them asking after every dish what we thought of it.. But that is me

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fell very short of expectations”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I found wd-50 to be grossly overrated. For the price that we're paying, I'd want a venue that was just a little classier. I don't need white tablecloths and leather chairs, but I would like to have a bit more privacy, and not be squeezed in shoulder-to-shoulder with the guests next to me.

The food was also somewhat disappointing. It certainly wasn't bad, but I've been to restaurants that were half the price, and twice as good.

The only real stand-outs from the evening were the desserts. The foamed key lime pie was amazing. It was served, torched on top, with condensed milk hidden inside. Beautiful construction, delicious in flavor.

Of the mains, the scallops were best.

For the price, I wouldn't really recommend wd-50.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nycbos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the experience”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved every bit of this menu. From the chilled egg drop soup to the rabbit to the Wagyu been to all four desserts....
The service was impeccable and the sommelier was helpful and on point.
Try the black garlic martini!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very, very disappointing”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were so looking forward to this dinner. We love tasting menus. We've seen Chef Dufresne on Top Chef Masters and were intrigued by his food. This was going to be one of the highlights of our trip to NYC. And we were so disappointed. We had the "from the vault" tasting menu which is 5 courses (versus 9 courses on the other tasting menu). WE also had the wine pairing. First course was a foie gras with anchovy. It was very fishy. Okay, maybe that's just me, so I was hopeful for the rest of the meal. 2nd course was a roasted chestnut soup served with salmon on the side. The salmon was very fishy. So much so, that I couldn't even eat it. 3rd course was a pork dish (sorry can't remember exact details) that was prepared sous vide. The pork was almost all fat. The accompaniments with it were delicious (love the roasted capers). Dessert was good, not great. Overall, the only thing we agreed that we all thought was delicious were the little capers. Not a good thing. Wine was lackluster. And they even paired one wine with two dishes, so we felt a little ripped off there. to top it all off, it was very, very expensive. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Sorry!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hank44224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wd~50 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing