We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of wd~50 - CLOSED

wd~50
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Stanton + Rivington
Transit: F Train to Delancey, JMZ to Essex
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I make it a point to visit wd-50 whenever I travel to NY. It's very pricy but worth the experience if you're up for dropping some cash on some unique food. There are some cool places around wd-50 too! One time I was there visiting they took us on a tour of the kitchen. I can't wait to go back the next time I visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texas1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    69
    45
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Surreal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Experience: A completely surreal experience. Seen him on tv, but never thought I'd be at his restaurant. My husband surprised me for my birthday just a few days ago. It was amazing!

Food: I had the twelve course tasting menu (as did my husband). Such unique tastes, textures, and styles of food. If you dont know too much about molecular gastronomy, you may want to look into it before you decide to go to this restaurant. Arrangements can be made for specific allergies or food preferences. (Nice to know!). I've never ate a meal that had more "firsts" in it before. Never tried squab, wagyu beef, yuzu ice...tons of stuff that were unique to this dinner. Very exciting! My favs: The chicken with "peas" and carrots- so good and so unique with the peas. Dessert was also great as well as the wagyu beef.

Service: Polite and friendly. Restaurant opened at 6, we had reservations for 6:30, but they seated us immediately. Corner table (awesome). You had one main waiter, but many service staff interacted with us during the evening. Some brought silverware, some took plates, others brought plates and explained the dishes...it was really a head spinning experience. So many people just swarming around. (not in a bad way...). Our waiter was great because we opted out of the wine pairings, but my husband wanted to do a little bit of a "beer pairing" so he asked for recommendations for a few beers throughout dinner, which our waiter was happy to help him with. It was top notch service without being pushy or in your face. We never felt rushed.

Recommendations: Make a reservation. Better safe than sorry. If you end up sitting at the bar, your choices are a little more limited. We just went (December 8th, 2012) and were told Wiley does not come in on Friday and Saturdays as a request from his wife after the birth of his second child. So if you really want to see him, show up on another day. Go for the tasting menu if you're open to anything...it was amazing and I dont think I would have been happy with just a large unique dish. The fun was trying something new, and commenting on it as you ate. I think the earlier the better to show up, that way you can enjoy without being rushed, and you may be able to get your pick of tables.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsKnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Watch the videos then try the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

When I was a kid I used to see magicians perform at school and on TV. But I was never content to just see the trick; I always wanted to know "How did he do that?"

I felt the same way about having dinner at wd~50. I enjoyed most of the tastes, plate architecture and novel ingredients. But, mostly, I wanted to know "How did they do this?"

If you want to get the most from your visit to wd~50, go on-line and watch a few hours of YouTube videos with Wylie Dufresne talking at Harvard University and other places. He explains the why and how of his cooking philosophy.

I wish I'd watched these before I went. The dinner would have made much more sense. Your dinner won't ruined by knowing about meat glue, xantham gum and transglutaminase.

Should you go, despite the $350 price tag for two? Yes, assuming you don't have to miss a mortgage payment to do it. But watch the videos first. They'll help you understand "how they did that."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveDianeBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“hurried, expensive and disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived at 7 and they had us out by 8.15 after a tasting menu including wines. Never felt so rushed in a restaurant of this calibre before. Tables so close you ate with your neighbours

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
297 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“great food, poor to average service with high prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was so looking forward to my experience here..I am a foodie! Whereever i am i search out the best that there is to offer....i live in nyc and have never been to this restaurant until this evening. while the food was wonderful (some dishes better than others) i have to say that the service was lacking in warmth and professionalism. our waitress would have been fired immediately, had she been working for me. when you are paying $500.00 plus for dinner for two people, service should be spottless....not sloppy.....and the chef doesn't acknowledge the diners, like the chefs in europe do....when i dine in italy, in top restaurants, chefs come to the table and thank the guests....i realize that this is nyc but maybe that is why i hate this city,,,attitude

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wd~50 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing