We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave the lunch leftovers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haveli Banjara Indian Restaurant

Haveli Banjara Indian Restaurant
Ranked #3,185 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Village
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Leave the lunch leftovers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This place looked busy when we walked past it one evening, so we decided to try it next day at lunch. We were the only clients but the waiter was unsmiling and perfunctory. We ordered biriyani and dosa, both dishes we have had many times before in many cities, including in India. Unfortunately, neither were good. The biryani was just reheated meat and rice, dry and ill -seasoned. The dosa was flabby and only cooked on one side, obviously prepared the day before (or longer), ready to flip and finish when served. When I pointed out that it was cold and uncooked, the waiter was unapologetic. The proffered scoop of ice cream to share was an inadequate response. Other reviewers seem happy, so perhaps the service and food are good in the evening when the chef and wait staff are on top of things. On this performance, I would definitely avoid at lunch time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigapplebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food and super nice staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were new to the restaurant and the wait staff was very nice to us. They gave us suggestions and added free appetizers and dessert for us. We sat there for 3 hours and they never gave us a feeling we had to hurry. They even made a dish for us that wasn't on the menu!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Since over 20 years my favorite Indian restaurant. The new owner did not change the quality, and I'm happy with that. The interior is beautiful and the food excellent and affordable. Excellent wine list, very reasonable prices. Free ice cream for desert...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcelhavelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heavenly Haveli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Haveli is probably one of the best Indian Restaurants I have ever been to. The dishes are not over-westernised, the spice blends are excellent and I have managed to convert people who say they don't like Indian food by bringing them here.

I have a particular fondness for the Biryani and the mango ice cream as an occassional treat.

Service is attentive and prompt and it's nice to have proper tablecloths and a sense of occassion that usually signals a steeper price tag.

Portion sizes are not huge (which I like, as I find large portions off-putting) but there is always plenty of rice and naan.

A nice place for a not too formal date or dinner with some friends

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ah, Haveli...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have no illusions that a trip to Haveli will be like stepping into a restaurant in India. While the food is quite good, and it's entirely possible to go authentic with some of the menu items, the beauty of Haveli is that you can take your friends who don't like Indian food, convert them, and not compromise your own meal in the process.

Food: The menu is extensive, and there are many offerings for people seeking quality Indian cuisine. A quick chat with the waitstaff, and you'll be spiced up to your liking, but everything on the menu can also be delivered mildly, to appease your friends who don't care for curries or spicy foods. Breads (excluding the papadum) are made fresh, and during busiest hours, naan is made at the back of the dining room, in view of the tables.

Decor: Aesthetically appealing two-level space with big tables, good acoustics, comfortably cushioned chairs and good spacing. This restaurant is well-equipped to deal with larger parties & families with children. Nice enough for a date or business dinner, but casual enough to just pop in on a whim. Far and away a step up from the other 6th street options, and great when you don't want the crowded NYC restaurant experience.

Service: The staff is warm & welcoming, and very appreciative of its regulars. Water glasses are attentively refilled without the need for a request. Most impressive is the clearing of tables -- the waitstaff can clear a table of four on one arm, which really must be seen to be believed. And it's a very nice surprise to be remembered upon your return, greeted with a smile and a handshake, by hosts, managers and waitstaff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeeQueEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haveli Banjara Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Haveli Banjara Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing