We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope. ”
Review of Lucien Restaurant

Lucien Restaurant
Ranked #2,708 of 16,013 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Why do you take reservations if you don’t honor them?
Waited over an hour past our reservation...then got major attitude from the hostess when we asked him about getting seated.
Ruined our night, went back to Nomad to eat after waiting 70 min.
There are too many other great places in NY to put up with this kind of disrespectful dismissive attitude when trying to have a nice meal.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank malcolmTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Very nice place but a little bit crowded. We booked a table but we had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. I ordered the rabbit and was wonderful! They have very wines too.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MarM1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018

We ended up here on a rainy afternoon on the recommendation of a friend... and loved it!

The service was charming and personal, ambience wonderful and the food fantastic. We went with basics - Onion Soup and Steak Frites with a bottle of lovely red wine recommended by the server.

It is not inexpensive, but well worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We went to Lucien many years ago, likely the first month it opened. We just returned and discovered that they are still doing the same things right.

Their reservation system is a bit free form so be prepared for a possible wait. Do not despair however as they will quickly get you a glass of wine.

The place is very Parisian in decor and design. Classic bistro. Tables are tight, lighting is bright but not obtrusive. Service was pleasant but not over the top.

We went old school for the night (as there is really no other choice). Onion soup (the onions could have been cooked a bit longer for a greater depth of flavour), frisbee salad (the lardons were a bit too big and chewy for my liking), filet mignon with fries (simple and delicious) plus a very large crab cake (moist and flavourful).

It was a pleasant evening with classical French bistro food in an environment with a warm glow.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Canadatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

Just stumbled upon this place and what a find
This place is charming and the server was friendly and attentive
The fish soup although a tad salty was very flavorful and the pate was excellent
Also had the merguez sausage which was so tasty

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank sylvies73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucien Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lucien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing