We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pastrami Sandwich”
Review of Katz's Deli

Katz's Deli
Get food delivered
Ranked #469 of 13,392 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
Reviewed October 22, 2019 via mobile

Now this is the spot for a NY trip! Hands down best Pastrami I have ever tasted, this will melt in your mouth like a Butter steak . I will definitely be back when I visit my Big City

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank 817sala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (17,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 457 of 17,368 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

Possibly line up to get in.
Be handed a ticket on entering.
Line up behind the counter.
Decide what you want whilst waiting. Maybe share if not that hungry.
Order and let them mark your ticket.
Find a table to sit at.
Eat (sandwiches average $20 each)
Pay.
Hand your ticket in when leaving.
In that order.
It’s an experience in itself which you may or may not like.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank FoodyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019 via mobile

Always like to bring back a few pastrami sandwiches when we visit the Big Apple.
10am and the place is packed! Our “cutter” was very courteous and efficient. A never miss when in NYC !

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank RonKathy_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

If you like authentic deli good spot to eat. If you don’t like long waits,being packed in like sardines not a good choice. Waited 1hour to get in. Spent 40 min. Crushed in lines to get sandwich, then more time to line up for sides and drinks. Then circling like a vulture for someone to free up a table. You can choose to get a table with a waitress but longer wait.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

Sitting in Katz on 2nd and Houston, that was something. Crowded, but worth every second there. The food toppled the plate for the money that you pay. The corn beef melts in your mouth. The food was so good for us, when we are away from the city, we have it shipped to wherever we are stationed at the moment, just to have good food for awhile.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank theoneyoulove1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.