We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a very good restaurant, but i think it is a bit expensive”
Review of Katz's Deli

Katz's Deli
Ranked #246 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is a very good restaurant, but i think it is a bit expensive”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

It is a very good restaurant, but i think it is a bit expensive. today, Saturday, there was a line outside the restaurant...so people love the place, but i spent over 25 dollars for a pastrami sandwich, fries and a soda...too much

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoGrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,800
    3,682
    1,521
    544
    459
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A true experience”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I am a huge food fan and a big fan of when Harry met sally so this was a must. It was a little confusing when we first walked in but it take long to work out how it worked. You can order yourself at the counter or there are tables reserved if you want waiter service. We had matzo ball soup to share, I had a half pastrami sandwich and my husband had a philly steak sandwich we enjoyed it the soup was particularly good as we both had a cold! A great experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurajanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Total Hassle. You walk in like "um..... Now what" looks pretty cool inside. A NYC tradition but the food was average. just weird. Have to stop at like 4 diff stations to get lunch and wait in line at all of them. I just dont get the appeal. Walk an extra block to the Lobster Joint and get an awesome Lobster Roll.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmusedDaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Katz's deli is crowded, expensive, and noisy. But that's New York City for you. It's a bit intimidating when you approach the doors and see long lines and gentlemen barking about tickets. Not sure how long you'd wait if eating in, but taking out took around 15 minutes. The Reuben I ordered was around $18 (don't forget to tip). It came with pickles and cucumbers. I was barely able to finish it all. Good meal.

Helpful?
Thank SD0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the hassle!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Awesome sandwiches, but extremely crowded. Hard to get a seat. Don't forget to bring cash, and don't lose your ticket. They give you a ticket when you enter the restaurant, and they will not let you leave without it. Overall, the food is worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jssides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing