We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WHAT IT WAS BUT STILL AN ICON”
Review of Katz's Deli

Katz's Deli
Ranked #247 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
RADLETT
Level Contributor
179 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT IT WAS BUT STILL AN ICON”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If it hadn't been famous and we hadn't been many times before Katz's would have been a disappointment. Sunday morning, not busy or buzzy and only OK food. The photos are still on the walls but I don't think there will be too many new ones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMLRadlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,498
    3,501
    1,449
    516
    437
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pastrami”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great pastrami, some of the best I've ever eaten. (The best is at Langer's in Los Angeles.) Would I return during my next visit to NYC? Definitely, if it fits my schedule. It's near the Tenement Museum, which is pretty interesting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDaveyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST PASTRAMI EVER”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I took to subway to Katz's Deli ( where Harry met Sally) due to the rave reviews we had from friends who used to live in the area. WOW best Pastrami sandwich ever. I'm still thinking about how good it was and it is now almost a month since we were there. It will be a must on any trip to NYC we ever take.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perry6162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I was very excited about our plan to lunch at Katz's Deli but it turned out to be a horrible experience. Upon our arrival, I advised the door person that my husband was in a cast and could he recommend how we approach dining to reduce the amount of time he had to spend standing and waiting. The door person handed me a green ticket and told us that it would be quicker if we didn’t request table service and went directly to the counter for service. I went to the counter, handed the server a green ticket and asked for three corned beef sandwiches. The server took the green ticket and wrote the price for three sandwiches on the ticket. I proceeded to the drink counter, ordered two beers and a root beer and the price of the drinks was added to our green ticket. We found a table, which hadn’t been washed down and the general appearance of the facility was filthy. As you depart, you hand the cashier your green ticket and the amount on the ticket is what is charged. As we approached the cashier, a gentleman asked to see our three tickets; I said “we were only given one ticket”. He replied saying “no you weren’t, you were given three tickets, check your pockets”. I told him “we didn’t need to check our pockets because I know I was handed only one ticket”. He again insisted that “he personally handed me the three tickets”; that was not even true. I pointed to the door person that I spoke with and told this guy, “you did not hand me the ticket because this guy handed me the ticket following a conversation about my husband’s cast”. He yells over to the doorman and says”how many tickets did you give this family” the guy says two” again not true (not to mention if we were supposed to be given three, why is this guy saying he only handed us two – stupid system and zero logic). The price on our ticket for three sandwiches and three drinks was $68.00 – if common sense prevailed, they would see that a $68.00 lunch for three people would make sense and that we weren’t trying to rip them off. After much to and fro, a security guard finally had to clear us to pay our bill and leave the restaurant. What a complete fiasco. IF YOUR GREEN TICKET SYSTEM DOESN”T WORK, TRY A NEW SYSTEM. Secondly, HIRES SERVERS WHO DON’T BOLD FACE LIE.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthiad550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“"I'll have what she is having"”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best pastrami sandwich ever! Felt like a real NY experience. The wait wasn't bad at all as we went mid morning on a weekday. It was a true NYC experience. There is no order in this place, but that is the fun part about it. My three kids loved it! Mile high pastrami sandwich.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank michellehansma69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Katz's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing