We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Share the experience”
Review of Pommes Frites

Pommes Frites
Ranked #829 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Share the experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Everyone loves fries...most people have loved them since they were children. Pommes Frites is like the grown up version. With their thick cut Belgian Fries, it is sure to please even the most voracious patron. But the size of the fries aren't what makes it grown up...it's the variety of sauces that is sure to please...You would be ashamed to leave there with just Ketchup.

If you like your fries with a sweet tang, I'd recommend the Sweet Chilli sauce or the Sweet Mango Chutney Mayo. If you like them cheesy, I'd suggest the Parmesan Peppercorn. It's tangy with a subtle cheese flavor.

Be aware the portions are large and a regular (which is the smallest size) can feed two people happily. It's great to feed a group of friends, you can grab a double with a few sauces and enjoy.

If you're looking to sit and eat, you may be in for quite the shock. The eating area is small and can only accommodate around 20 people total. So if you're stopping by late night then you'll have to walk and eat. Otherwise, Tompkins Square Park is two blocks away (if you walk east down 7th ave or St. Marks Place you'll run right into it!)...it's a great place to people watch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelChica4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
TravelChica4, there's nothing childish about great food! Beyond the obvious deliciousness, we'd like to think our frites bring people together -- folks of all shapes and sizes, races and creeds -- waiting in line for a cone of freshly fried potato goodness. Thanks for taking a moment to share what you love about frites and sauces!

Join us again soon,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    99
    26
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I create my own person foodie tour each time I visit the city. We were spending our time in the Lower East and I saw this on the map and had to try it. Loved it!! The smallest size was still large (especially when you are eating your way through the city) but I guarantee you we ate every bit of it. Having all the different options for sauces was great too. This is one of my favs.

Helpful?
1 Thank gottavaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Gottavaca, NYC is the perfect city for a culinary journey, and with so many amazing places to choose from, it's an honor to have made your list. Thank you for the five stars! We'd love to see you again next time you're in town. There's more sauces to sample!

All the best,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We made a stop at Pommes Frites as part of our East Village Food and Culture Tour this spring (2014).
It was fun: At first sight, this narrow hole-in-the wall comes across as a little stuffy and uninviting, especially with the huge potato sacks stacked around. But once you receive your order, it'll be all worth it. Jut to give you an idea, the sauces we picked were: peanut satay and raw onion, Vietnamese pineapple, sweet mango chutney, pomegranate teriyaki, smoked eggplant, Mexican ketchup, wasabi mayo, black truffle, and Bordeaux wine and figs. And there were just as many more exotic varieties to choose from. The (100% gluten-free) fries themselves were golden, fresh and fried just right. Just as they should.
I had a lovely experience and will sure be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globe-trotteress-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Globe-trotteress-NY, thanks so much for including us in your tour of the East Village's amazing food and culture scene! We're proud to represent the best of what our neighborhood has to offer, and it's a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stop here. You got to try a huge variety of sauces! Was there anything you missed out on this first time? Come back soon for more!

All the best,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulsboro, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

It may look like a hole-in-the wall but it will be THE BEST French Fries you will ever have in your life! Fresh cut and cooked right in front of you and served with any kind of dipping sauce. Fries are all they do and they are the best!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Meredith! That's a serious compliment right there, and I just want you to know that it does not go unappreciated. See you next time!

Sincerely,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A taste of Belgium in Manhattan”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The fries are great and the sauces are plentiful. I opt for the traditional mayo but there are many different ones to try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate the encouragement! Thank you for taking the time to share this glowing recommendation for us, Dee. Please keep us in mind next time you're in New York! Our door's always open.

Take care,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pommes Frites also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pommes Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing