We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Belgium in Manhattan”
Review of Pommes Frites

Pommes Frites
Ranked #773 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A taste of Belgium in Manhattan”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The fries are great and the sauces are plentiful. I opt for the traditional mayo but there are many different ones to try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate the encouragement! Thank you for taking the time to share this glowing recommendation for us, Dee. Please keep us in mind next time you're in New York! Our door's always open.

Take care,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    99
    26
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fun and pretty authentic”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This Belgium fry place is really good. They have so many different dips to put your hot, fresh fries into. It is a great late night snack as well but the line can get pretty long!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Va9nessa, great frites and exciting sauces? What could be better? Thanks for spreading the word about us on TripAdvisor! You know where to find us when you need your frite fix--hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Taste of Belgium”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you like real Belgium Pomme Frites, this is probably the closest you’ll find in the USA. Though I always get the regular frite sauce (it’s pretty close to the European style I love), they also have a variety of dipping sauces from which to choose. And since they’re near NYU, they are open late - so you can satisfy a craving almost any time you have one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 88JenniferD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Jennifer, we love the authentic, classic Belgian-style frites too! That's why we opened our shop, to bring that unique and delicious treat to our friends here in NYC. Thanks for vouching for their quality--it's great to hear they reminded you of the ones across the pond.

We hope you loved your visit to NYC,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must when visiting the New York City area!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

You have to stop here and get a snack if you are in the City area!! Try the Peanut Satay!! The Hot Chili paste and the Mexican ketchup is amazing. Great staff and great atmosphere!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ironevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for naming us a 'must' for NYC tourists, Ironevan! Glad to hear you loved your visit. No trip to the city is complete with frites! Come see us again whenever you're in town.

All the best,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SO delicious!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I love Pommes Frites and make it a point to stop by there anytime I am visiting NYC! Choosing from all the delicious sauces is my favorite part. I would absolutely LOVE if you opened up a location in Philadelphia!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 655aprild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for spreading the word about us on TripAdvisor, April! Do you make it out to NYC often? We'd love to be in Philly too, but we don't have any immediate plans to expand. Who knows what the future holds? In the meantime, we'll look forward to seeing you whenever you're in town.

Best wishes,
Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pommes Frites also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pommes Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing