We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Cut Fries! yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pommes Frites

Pommes Frites
Ranked #683 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Belgian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh Cut Fries! yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always tell myself that i will order the medium size fries, but then I get there and something happens! I order the large with three different dipping sauces and stuff myself. They are just sooo good. You probably shouldn't plan to eat them inside because there is very little room and seating is limited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dardileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
dardileo, it must be that tantalizing sense of anticipation you feel while waiting in line and smelling our fresh fries cooking that keeps you from sticking to a 'medium'. Why resist? When you enjoy something as much as you seem to enjoy our frites, you should go all in. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recommendation on TripAdvisor! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,

Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    97
    24
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I love the small, two booth, no bathroom skinny restaurant that is Pommes Frites. The frites and sauces are fantastic. A must do in NYC

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellingpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks, travellingpoodle! We appreciate the shout out.

Until next time,

Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Belgian enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Warning: Serious Frites fan

Having been to Belgium, I can CONFIDENTLY say that these fries are not "authentic Belgian fries" as they are too overcooked, too thick and too dark to be so!!!! Belgian fries have a light yellow colour and are the regular French-fry size or even smaller. The only thing 'Belgian' about them is that they come with the original frites sauce (the mayo), and they're wrapped in a paper cone, as they are served in Belgium.

With that said, the "pomme frites" still taste pretty good and the amount of sauce you get is great. The portions of the frites in general were large-- the regular size was more than sufficient for one person. The line up was pretty long, and it was hot in there. We decided to eat them inside, which was probably a bad idea because I smelled like frites for rest of the night. The tables even have little holes where you can put your frites. Smart.

Note: no bathroom.

Great customer service though, the "pomme chef" was HARD at work.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dutchesskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Appreciate the feedback, but we try to cater to a truly authentic Belgian menu. Our sauces have a New York twist to them but otherwise, we're looking to keep it traditional!

Best,

Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fab Fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

These are the best fries ever! A must visit if you like Belgian Pomme Frites and Mayonnaise. Yummy! We will go back here again and would recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Green_Eyes_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much! Making Belgian frites are our passion, and we love sharing the authentic snack with all our guests.

Until next time,

Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum! An East Village Must Do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

When in New York City's East Village you must stop in at Pommes Frites! The make Belgium fires with dip. The fries are so tasty and fresh and there are so many yummy flavors of dip to chose from. It's a very small restaurant with the funky East Village vibe. We loved the place and the food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PommesFritesNY, Owners at Pommes Frites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
And we love having you, Audrey! Thanks for the kind words, and we can't wait to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in NYC!

Sincerely,

Suzanne and Omer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pommes Frites also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pommes Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing