We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School”
Review of Kossar's Bialys

Kossar's Bialys
Ranked #83 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old School”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very old school bagel & bialy place. It's really set up for taking your stuff home - they don't put cream cheese on for you, I don't even think they sell coffee, etc. They have a cooler with spreads that you can buy and take with you.

The Challah bagels I got were excellent. I'd never heard of a challah bagel, but I think it just must be another name for egg bagels, since that's exactly what it tasted like. A wonderfully delicious egg bagel. Yummmm.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mdjD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I am a Bialy Addict, and I Love Their Bialys!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great bialys! I am a bialy addict, and whenever I am in NYC, I walk eight blocks here from my hotel every day or two to get some bialys! WONDERFUL!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vinny067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Forget bagels - bialys are the real deal!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Years ago one of our New York friends introduced us to bialys - often referred to as cousins to the bagel but with quite a different flavor and texture. Unlike a bagel, which is boiled and then baked with a hole in the middle, the bialy is only baked and has an indentation in the middle that is filled with small onion slices, garlic or poppy seeds. They have a slightly longer shelf life than a bagel, and are delicious with cream cheese, salmon, herring or any other topping you want to add. If you want to try one, Kossar's is the place to go - probably the source for any bialys you might find at the delis around NYC. They also have bagels - if you want them - and they sell spreads, but mostly they sell bialys. This is not a restaurant, but more a grocery. They have a shelf against the window you can eat on with a few stools, but it's mostly in and out service. The counter guy is gruff; the open bakery ovens, the shelves, the wonderful smells of flour and baking are all part of the experience (the counter guy would hate that I said that!). Whenever I go to NY, I buy a dozen; I love watching the faces of fellow commuters on the Amtrak train try and figure out where that great smell is coming from!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlavorFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent cheap eats...”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I've been to Kossar's twice. The first time I wasn't that impressed with the bialys. Maybe they're an acquired taste. I was there yesterday with my daughter and this time we got bagels. They were excellent. My daughter got an everything bagel and she loved it. I got plain with some delectable cream cheese. The bagels were wonderfully fresh, chewy - everything a bagel should be. And at just $1 per bagel it was a very inexpensive, filling and satisfying breakfast. The ambiance leaves a lot to be desired - the place is pretty faded and dumpy. It doesn't need to be flashy but it could use a renovation. And the woman at the register was efficient but unfriendly, answering questions in mono-syllables. But for a quick and excellent breakfast on the Lower East Side it can't be beat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“FORGET THE BAGEL EAT BIALYS”
Reviewed July 28, 2008

FORGET THE BAGEL EAT BIALYS

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kossar's Bialys also viewed

 

Been to Kossar's Bialys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing