We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, surroundings & food exceptional”
Review of Al Bustan

Al Bustan
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Bustan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,201 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: E & V trains to 53rd Street.
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Service, surroundings & food exceptional”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lebanese specialties including Kibbeh Nayeh, baked & grape leaves. Next time the prix fixe selections. Charles, great service, thank you! We will be back our next visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EaZexcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    12
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Soden
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Another review by a Lebanese national was the reason my family and I chose it and we walked there from Times Square (long walk).
The restaurant is very nicely decorated and provides a family-like atmosphere. Waiters are helpful and quite patient with those of us that take a bit longer to decide on what to eat. At the time of our arrival, 6:30pm, we were one of five tables being served; an hour later the place was packed and judging from the number of arabic speaking customers, the food must be authentic.

Since we wanted to try almost everything, the three of us settled on the EXTREME MEZZE (usually for parties of four). To say the hummus was great is an understatement. The same can said of the vine leafs, the tabuleh (forgive y typing) and everything else. Once the app etizers were finished, the grill plate, part of the mezze, was served. The meat was tender and tasted finger-licking good. At the end of the dinner we were reminded that desserts are included in the mezze; the plate of assorted sweets were a perfect end to a wonderful dinner. Although we did not try every dish, I am certain that all of them will taste great. You will not be disappointed.

As a last note, we all had beer with the dinner and I would suggest you try 961 DARK (Lebanese); it has an unusual taste (read the ingredients and you will understand) that goes very well with the Lebanese food.

Helpful?
Thank AS-worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese in New York”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's not exactly bustling with patrons, but the food is the best Lebanese cuisine this side of Beirut. The hummus is silken and perfectly flavoured. Try it with bits of meat in it. The baba ghannouj is also memorable. The meat tartares are also delicious. And try a glass of Lebanese wine. It's an extensive menu but the servers are helpful guiding you what to order. Am surprised at negative reviews as have always had a superlative experience here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Just Delicious Authentic Lebanese Food!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Dined with family and friends over lunch. We were a very large group, but service was exemplary. The food is - in a word - divine. Sublimely authentic. The Lebanese pride themselves on service and Bustan is no exception. We try to eat here every time we visit New York.

Highly Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Should have listened to the other Trip Advisor reviewers but alas, I did not. So I paid the price in a very bad way.
The place was empty, another warning not to enter.
I waited over thirty minutes for soup. Which was watery at best. Not sure why the owner would write to other bad reviews that they use fresh ingredients.
The food was so greasy and tasteless. The chick peas came from a can. Not fresh in the least. Service was non existent.
Stay away. We will be looking for other, better Lebanese restaurants in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bustan also viewed

 

Been to Al Bustan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing