We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”
Review of Wollensky's Grill

Wollensky's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Wollensky's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,590 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to Grill the Sunday night the hurricane was due to hit and had an absolute ball. There was five of us and had about a 30 min wait but we were quite happy to stay by the bar and enjoy the atmosphere. Food was excellent and service great. Big shout out to David, the Maitre d and Oliver behind the bar who both helped to make the night one of the best we had during our trip!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennyh1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    81
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, good service.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I ended up here because Smith & Wollensky was closed. The place is beautiful and the service was alright. In terms of the food, I am not so sure. They have a limited menu, therefore you have not so many choices. In terms of steak it was OK. I found it a bit expensive.
I could eat at this place again, but one thing is for sure I won't make a trip just to eat there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sheldon_region4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Classic Steakhouse- Great Steak”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

They do it right here. A nice buzz in the room. Good food- the Grill shares the kitchen with the restaraunt and you can ask for that menu- plus it is open very late. Classic steak dishes done right. Awesome wait staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Manhattan”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Try dining on the street... Great little raised seating area with sensational service. We had the choice of 2 menus one from Smith and Wolenski and the other Wollensky Grill. The steak was cooked to perfection. The Cheese cake was to die for... Great Service and great atmosphere...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Crowded, but Quaint”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with some colleagues and had a good time. Overall - the food was delicious and the waiter - Peter - was friendly (though a bit frazzled at times).

The space was a bit crowded - which speaks to Wallensky's popularity, and to I'm guessing is somewhat typical for a nicer place to eat in Manhattan.

Spent just under $30 for dinner and unlimited beverages (soft drinks). Not bad for a decent restaurant in a nicer part of the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wollensky's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wollensky's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing