We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bernie Madoff Picked a Legitimate Winner”
Review of Chin Chin - CLOSED

Chin Chin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Memphis
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bernie Madoff Picked a Legitimate Winner”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This family owned restaurant has been in business for over 20 years and Jimmy Chin runs a wonderful restaurant where personal service is their specialty. Before his downfall, Bernie Madoff ate there weekly and had them deliver for his functions, as well. So, even a con man knows the real thing when he tastes it. We were there after a play with some friends who eat here on every trip to New York. We went with their recommendations and were not disappointed. For appetizers we had both pork and vegetable dumplings, which were delicious. For our main courses, we all had the Grand Marnier Shrimp, which is a poorly kept secret (not on the menu), and their unique twist on vegetable fried rice. Both provided reason enough to put this place on my list of regular stops while here. Go and enjoy. But, don't expect to see Bernie there for 100 years or so!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MemRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food in New York New York”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great tasting food from the Hot & Sour soup to the Kung Pow Chicken. This is a place that has never disappointed. The staff is very accommodating with great service. This is the one restaurant I always stop at when ever I'm in Vegas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pda575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique Chinese fare with an upscale flair”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Went to Chin Chin on a recommendation and were not diappointed. The dining area was well appointed with wait staff always at the ready. Nice bar available with all you favorite cocktails. We started our meal with a dumpling and egg roll assortment with multiple sauces...all were tasty. Main dishes were served family style and we tried 4. The crispy orange beef, crispy pan fried noodles (chow mein with home made noodles/vegetables/assorted meats) and the shreaded chicken were all very good along with being unique in taste (not your normal chineese). The orange duck was ok. Overall a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry valley
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Chinese Chinese, This place is different. Kinda simple yet cool atmosphere. great service and the menu is great. Appetizers are all good especially the dumplings and ribs. Entrees are large and very good especially the noodle dishes. great martinis and the bartender was great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronCherryValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple Elegance and tasty food”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

On a recent visit to New york the hotel concierge recommended this restaurant. Loved the simple elegance of the restauant and tasty food. The wait staff seemed to be very seasoned and and very nicely dressed. The service was excellent and liked the way the they plated the food near your table before placing it in fron of you. They were very good about explaining the dishes and even suggested how much to order (as in many cases customers dont know portion sizes). Food of course was excellent and price was reasonable.
Highly recommend this restauant. We went for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singharj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing