We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80's Flashback”
Review of Mr. Chow - 57th

Mr. Chow - 57th
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. Chow - 57th is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,181 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R & W trains to Lexington Ave/59th Street.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“80's Flashback”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Love Mr. Chow's on East 57th Street. It's always great to walk in the doors and see that nothing has changed, and that's a good thing. The entrance always makes you feel like you are on a stage and I get flashbacks to good memories of the 80's and being in college and coming here before hitting the clubs downtown. Not the scene/spectacle it used to be as far as the crowd, but has become a cozy restaurant that well heeled neighborhood regulars come to. Also looks like the dining room for families of hedge fund daddies. The service is still formal and impeccable, yet friendly. There are two two-course dinner specials that are very reasonable at $58 or $62. And when the noodle maker comes out to do his nightly performance, the room falls silent. It's great. The sea bass in a ginger scallion sauce is delicious as is the Ma Mignon. Sometimes they even have 80's music playing, so fun. An added bonus, I've had two DeNiro sightings here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmk10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    66
    42
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Mr chow has always been good and nice atmosphere. Service is good and mr chow noodles are the best.. Bit pricey but worth it every once and a while

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best chinese / asian fusion ever”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

best Peking duck and assortment of starters. It was fantastic...great experience. A bit expensive...but worth it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went here last week during restaurant week. Tried the chicken satay, noodles, Hunan chicken (I think that's the name could be BeijingChicken), beef, shark fin soup and for desert sorbet and ice-cream.

Service was impeccable. Really best service I have ever had anywhere ever.

Food was really not that good. Chicken satay was just ok to me, the sauce tasted like condensed milk. The noodles were mushy. The soup was incredibly salty so much so that I couldn't finish the small $20 bowl. The chicken was decent and husband says beef was too. Desert was ok. Virgin mojitos were delish.

Place is really tiny. Honestly didnt see what the fuss was about and for the price on a regular day, definitely not worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yardielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Famcy place, great food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a fabulous dinner that e had in this place, attentions were first class, we took the fix menu but we did not try seafood because we are allergic. Everything was espectacular, but really called my attention the chicken satai, i highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Chow - 57th also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mr. Chow - 57th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing