We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and very tasty!!”
Review of La Mangeoire

La Mangeoire
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mangeoire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,146 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 53rd and 54th Streets
Transit: E & V trains to Lexington Ave/53rd Street, and 6 train to 51st Street.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and very tasty!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went there last night for the first time. The service was very good and the food was excellent!! Portions were large! The roast chicken is amazing! Very moist and great flavor! The au jus on the side is excellent on the chicken and the frites!! The cauliflower gratin was great ... not greasy at all and very cheesy!! Chenin blanc and sancere by the glass .... very good choices! Really looking forward to going back. Next time I won't eat for the day and I'll try the deserts!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank housy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    85
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
“The best roast chicken west of Brest”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

PERFECT roast chicken. The kind French mothers-in-law cook to make their American daughter-in-law feel inadequate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sadly no where near as good as it once was.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It is with regret that I write this review. We rarely get into New York City but La Mangeoire has always been a reliable favorite when we were dining mid-town. The last time we went we felt the standards had slipped but we hoped it was a one time occurrence. This time our experience was worse.

Our appetizers were acceptable but no better, a onion/leek soup and a celery root and carrot salad. My entree, a pasta dish with wild mushrooms and tomatoes was also acceptable but nothing special. My companion ordered scallops in a tarragon sauce. The flavor was forgettable and one of the scallops was raw in the center.

Part of the problem was the size. The scallops were far larger than usual which means they were less sweet and harder to judge for doneness. I feel that the buyer was carried away by mass and lost sight of quality. When we pointed this out to the waiter his first reaction was to explain that it was done correctly then he agreed to take it back.

At this point the question of service comes in. We repeatedly heard dishes being dropped and indeed as the single recooked scallop returned it was dropped and a new one had to be cooked.

Deserts were profiterole which were always a special treat at La Mangeoire but this time were gummy and covered with an overly bitter chocolate sauce, not the rich, semi-sweet sauce we remember. I had a lemon custard pie which was quite good.

For the high cost of the meal this was a disappointment and we will wait until we hear repeated good reviews before we eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“La Mangeoire”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent food and very laid back atmosphere. Prices are very reasonable for a midtown establishment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ptsao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Delightful Country French Dinner”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a lovely place! La Mangeoire is on a buzzing corner on the Upper East Side. The staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions. The menu was excellent with many difficult choices to make among tempting classic dishes. Especially good were the steak au poivre, the endive salad and the terrine appetizer. A nice feature is the offering of several main courses "family style", with enough for two (actually enough for four) including accompanying side dishes. Our only complaint was that the Coq au Vin was strangely bland. Everything else, however, was terrific. The atmosphere was cheery and cozy -- the perfect way to spend a Friday evening with family in Manhattan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mangeoire also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to La Mangeoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing