We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELIABLE ITALIAN”
Review of Cellini

Cellini
Reserve with OpenTable
Cellini is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #677 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Madison and Park Ave.
Description: Cellini’s culinary style of chic simplicity produces a menu of astounding freshness and creativity. We began with a masterful rendition of cornmeal polenta wedges with masses of slivered shitake mushrooms and a calamari salad garnished with beans and scallions, each set off with a hot, homemade foccacia, augmented with sliced crusty Tuscan bread. We next chose panzotti-supple half moon pasta filled with fresh, crisp vegetables lightly bathed in a delicate porcini mushroom sauce. A unique tubular pasta stuffed with the freshest fish and spinach under a seasoned fish stock was enough to show us that each dish here has its own personality, and is densely concentrated with flavor.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“RELIABLE ITALIAN”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good Italian food in a traditional setting. Service can be a bit brisk, but the place is always buzzing and food is consistent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    126
    49
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Gnocchi!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here early on a Sunday evening, no problem getting a table, ate with our kids and were treated very well. I had the Gnocchi, which was flat out incredible. Wife and daughter had a penne bolognese which was equally good and other daughter devoured the Tilapia. Dessert was also killer! $200 for four of us, including drinks for the grown ups, not a bad deal at all!

I'd discount the reviews complaining about getting a table, it's a good restaurant in Manhattan, you should expect that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, awkward service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cellini was recommended by our hotel. The food was good, but the service was a little spotty. We both had appetizer portions of pasta - the spaghetti and meatballs was good, and the mushroom risotto was nice. I had a chicken special that was tasty, and my husband really liked the veal parmigiano. The waiter disappeared when it was time for the check, and one of the wait staff seemed to be constantly fussed at by the waiter and hostess.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fine Italian option”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place is crowded, reservation is essential. Service is fast, there are many options in the menu, wine list is mainly italian. The food was very good, a real italian mean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Woisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Power Lunch in Midtown”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Cellini is an excellent restaurant by all accounts. The pastas are freshly made and presented elegantly. The restaurant was bustling both upstairs and down with business lunches. We had a table upstairs in one of the less trafficked areas, which was nice. We ordered a pasta sampler consisting of spaghetti, ziti, and gnocchi to start our meal. All were excellent. The menu is well varied, and the specials are creative. I thoroughly enjoyed the lobster ravioli topped with lump crab meat. Service was adequate, not exceptional. I recommend Cellini to anyone seeking a great Italian meal in midtown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soul_surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellini also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing