We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a High End Steakhouse”
Review of BLT Steak

BLT Steak
Reserve with OpenTable
BLT Steak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #428 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 4,5,6 to 59th Street
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not a High End Steakhouse”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Puzzled by the rave reviews. This place was just OK. Filet was just OK. All the food including sides and steak were slightly overcooked. Atmosphere not great traditional steak house. Small and cramped. Service was just OK. Patrons dressed down. Very average experience overall.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWayItIsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    161
    65
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend went to blt steak while in nyc for a special evening and that’s what we got.

From the moment we walked in the staff could not do enough for us, the waiter spent time telling us about the food and wine and his recommendations.

The food was stunning from the cheesy giant Yorkshire pudding and the complimentary parfait to the perfectly cooked filet and giant onion rings with a perfectly matched bottled of red wine.

The best steak we have ever eaten and up there with the best restaurants we have visited,
a truly perfect evening!

I would recommend blt as a great place for a special meal with fantastic food, wine and cocktails.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Happy Returns”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I recently revisited BLT this past January. We have been to BLT many times and always enjoy an excellent dining experience. During a prior visit before the holidays we were a bit disappointed that we had an inordinate wait for a table and the service was mediocre. I usually give and restaurant a second chance and in this case I'm glad I did. I am happy to report that BLT is still a cut above the other steakhouse " chains" in NYC. The food was outstanding and service was impeccable. The manager Albert made it a point to visit our table to assure the everything went smoothly . My faith has been restored and we will continue to visit BLT in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogeyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Every time I go to New York I have to visit BLT for dinner at least once, it's a must for me!
I also tried BLT in Miami Beach but I still find this one better: food is terrific, steaks are to die for and they have a huge (yet pricey) wine list. Even their popovers are better in New York.. so good!
Staff is very friendly and helpful, drinks are good, and the atmosphere is good both for couples and groups.
I can't wait to come back to NYC so I can visit BLT one more time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank interpol81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Cannot Fault”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

All tables full, Bar full of people without reservations waiting for tables to open up .... a very good sign. Ate here with my 16 year old, it was a faultless evening. Excellent service , great choices on a menu that certainly specialises in steak but has a lot of variety with Chicken , Fish, Lamb also. Smoked bacon as a starter was top notch, my sons Wagyu was perfectly medium well, my chicken was delicious and our sides were more than what we could comfortably finish! Very good night had by both of us and I can certainly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLT Steak also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to BLT Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing