We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the decor”
Review of Tao

Tao
Ranked #288 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Park & Madison
Transit: 4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue
Description: A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the decor”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I loved the look of this restaraunt and the Giant Buddha in the center of the restaraunt. The food was delicious too. I ordered a spicy tuna roll from the sushi menu and also a kung pao chicken dinner and I split the two with my Mom. It was plenty of food, and It was a good amount of spice for me. Since we were in a party of two we were seating at this long bar that has several tables for two. We didnt have much privacy this way and we could hear everything the people next to us were saying and vice versa. It didn't really dampen the experience though because we were excited to try the place and the food was great. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethiehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,404
    962
    342
    130
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great looking but over rated”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very cool 2 storey Bhudda waiting for you. man with bongo drums playing to the beat of the dj....very cool, very NYC. But- the food???? Overpriced, overrated. What a shame.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pantelitsa0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly great for 7th birthday”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location. I was a little nervous when we entered the dark interior with 4 kids (7-9 years), but they all loved it. The giant Buddhas, carp pond, rest rooms straight from Raiders of Lost Ark all kept them entertained. The staff were helpful and attentive and the food was very good. My granddaughter was very happy on her 7th birthday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taolicious”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very busy place but it is worth the waiting. The one thing is that when you make reservation you must show up on time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - terrible service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've visited the Tao in Las Vegas, which was by far the better experience. As a big fan of Asian fusion cuisine, the Tao New York was definitely on our list of places to experience. The location is convenient in midtown, the restaurant itself welcomes its guest in a trendy, young and lounge like atmosphere, which I think makes the Tao special. The food is great and reasonably priced. A definitely no-go is the service at this place. The waitresses in the upper level sitting area are never around. If you should be lucky enough to see one of them, they clearly make you feel that you are not very welcome. Unfortunately this diminishes the beautiful atmosphere a lot. Top of the iceberg: The check was presented with big circle around the "gratuity not included" note, with an exclamation mark at the end. This is something i would expect at a morning diner, but not at the Tao. If you are looking for a fantastic alternative with great food and outstanding(!!!) service, I can recommend the Hakkasan New York. I will definitely not return to the Tao.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing