We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared to wait... even if you have a reservation!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tao

Tao
Reserve with OpenTable
Tao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #290 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Park & Madison
Transit: 4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue
Description: A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait... even if you have a reservation!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked this for someone else for his wedding anniversary. I made the reservation for 20.15 and they confirmed. He explained to me when he got there that they gave him a buzzer that would alert him when the table was ready.

By 21.00, they went back to the host to inquire about their table and was told, "we are still working on the 20.00 reservations." Are you serious? What the heck was reservation for in the first place? If I make a RESERVATION, I should not have to wait when I arrive there - especially if I arrived beforehand.

Needless to say, they did not stay. Their evening was not ruined, but I still think this was poor service by this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,350
    934
    334
    125
    134
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Asian food, super decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had lunch here for a meeting with a client from Korea and it was really nice. The place is very large inside and laid out with a series of rooms and even a second level. A very large Buddha sits on a pond at the back with other beautiful art pieces around the restaurant. The service was great and the food - spot on and very filling. They even went out of their way to prepare one dish completely free of peanut oil for an associate who has a nut allergy. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tao restaurant - no curfew to expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Forget about desperate attempts of the Egypt President
Morsy to restore order in the country - here you don't need to
expect a curfew interrupting the eating frenzy... surrender to it
completely and have unforgettable memories!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller_2009001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Scene and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went to Tao on a business lunch, just last week. The prix-fixe menu for $27.50 offers really great options and you certainly won't be hungry when you leave. The menu offers an appetizer, entree, and dessert! Each course was perfectly timed and the food was delicious. Another great part about Toa is the ambiance - what a great place for a lunch or dinner. The vibe is amazing! Be sure to make a reservation, this place fills up quickly!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DW2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food & amazing ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been here on 2 occasions: lunch and cocktail hour.
Lunch: went during restaurant week ($25 for 3 courses for lunch; $38 for dinner) and although this restaurant has been around for a while, it was completely packed. The ambiance is great even at lunch time: makes it hard to get back to work afterwards...! We shared the crispy veggie rolls and chicken satay to start off - both were good and portions generous. We then moved on to a trio of sushi rolls (fresh, great quality) and an asian hanger steak served with delicious spicy fries. The desserts were also very good. The service was absolutely flawless which made the meal even more enjoyable.
At night, the atmosphere is also very nice. They have a large selection of cocktails, and the lychee martini is to die for. There is also a good sized bar area with couches to sit on, etc. so it is not usually too overcrowded.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing