We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than advertised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tao

Tao
Reserve with OpenTable
Tao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #303 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Park & Madison
Transit: 4, 5, 6 Trains at 59th Street R, N, W Trains at 5th Avenue
Description: A 16-foot Buddha, which floats above a reflecting pool filled with Japanese carp, presides over the scene at Tao. A favorite destination for celebrities and athletes, this Pan Asian restaurant specializes in authentic Hong Kong Chinese, Japanese and Thai cuisines. Tao has three levels of dining including the prized "Skybox" which offers views of this former movie theater unparalleled in New York. In addition to its 300 seats, Tao includes a sushi bar, lounge and two bars at which to enjoy the food and the show. Appetizers range from $8 - $18; Entrees: $16 -$39. Offering $27.50 Prix Fixe Lunch Menu year round.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than advertised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife took me to Tao for my birthday. It blew me away! The restaurant is very cool, with a giant Buddha and koi pond center-stage. It's very large, so not perfect if you're looking for a very intimate setting. The food is fantastic and I believe it rivals Nobu, but for a better price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 27sam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,368
    945
    338
    128
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The menu is excellent wiyhe a good variety of appetizers and entres. I would skip the sushi, though to save $$ - it's not worth it and there are too many other delicacies to choose from. I highly recommend the sea bass appetizer. Venue is a bit noisy with a lot of kids. Not the place for romance, just good food and fun.

Helpful?
Thank DavidR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Supercharge All 5 Senses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Tao experience can be overwhelming if you are not prepared. The menu is excellent with a good mix of asian fusion apps, entrees and desserts that are great for sharing, or keeping for yourself. I highly recommend the Wasabi Encrusted Fillet, the Squab Lettuce Wraps and the Giant Fortune Cookie (to share). It is pricey but great for once-in-a-while special occasions, parties, etc.. Do not expect to have a quiet conversation, it is loud in there with a club-like, driving soundtrack that must drive the servers crazy after a few shifts, but fun for the young and "young-at-heart" patrons. The atmosphere is spectacular featuring the bamboo surrounded "big-[--]-buddah" as the focal point, the illuminated koi pond, he calligraphed artwork on the ceiling and the dramatic "dark" lighting. The bar "waiting room", is also excellent to get you in the mood for the experience ahead. Enjoy one of their great house wines by the glass, a beer or cocktail . I recommend going with a big group of friends, couples or family, who aren't meeting for the first time and who love sharing great food together...otherwise, go somewhere more quiet and intimate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The funky Buddha doesn't disappoint!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Second visit and it doesn't disappoint. Great food, great atmosphere. I can't recommend highly enough.

Helpful?
Thank Riskyshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great venue, food ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The restaurant looks very nice, huge Buddha statue, fishpond, good lighting. The food is just ok, not very special. Not bad either but I wouldn't return for the food. We were seated upstairs so had a nice view. Dinner was ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tao also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing