We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, decor needs updating”

Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,278 of 13,736 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 2nd and 3rd Ave.
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R lines – Lexington stop. E,F lines – Lexington stop
Description: Dawat is a fine north Indian restaurant that also serves a couple of south Indian dishes as well. Located in Midtown East, Dawat is one of Manhattan’s finest Indian restaurants that serves an eclectic array of interesting dishes.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, decor needs updating”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was well prepared and tasted good. Service was excellent--attentive and responsive. However the decor of the restaurant is tired and needs updating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haverfordgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    69
    13
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food in NYC”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great dinner from start to finish!! We enjoyed all aspects of our dinner. Chicken and Lamb curries were excellent. Pakora was very good and Naan were excellent.

Great Service

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Osweg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Much better than our last visit.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We last visited Dawat about four years ago. We weren't impressed, and I gave them a mediocre review.
Last Friday, we were in the City with friends, and my wife suggested that we try Dawat again, since our friends had never been there, and are also fans of Madhur Jaffrey.
Very glad we did. Either Dawat has improved dramatically over the last four years, or our last visit caught them on a bad day. No complaints this time.
The service was balanced, efficient and friendly.
The food was excellent: we stuck to the dishes marked in the menu as "Madhur Jaffrey Specials" My wife and I started by sharing a Chicken Tikka Naan. I had Tandoori Lamb Chops and she had some prawn dish. Our friends had fried okra as an appetizer, followed by Lamb Kofta.
For wine, we chose an Indian Shiraz, which turned out to be a perfectly acceptable accompaniment.
Definitely worth a visit.
The moral of this story? When reading reviews, be sure to look at the date. Things can change, often quite rapidly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Sachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing curry find in NYC!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I booked a table for 2 whilst on holiday in New York for my boyfriends birthday. After getting off the subway it did take us a couple of minutes to find but what a find it was!
The food is incredible and even before you order there are these amazing cumin studded poppadoms on the table with a spicey dip. You can see the chef making them through the glass window into the kitchen. Now I am vegetarian and quite fussy as I don't enjoy spicey food and they accomodate for everythijg! I had a wonderful dish of paneer in a mild (they ask how hot you would like your food) creamy tomato sauce and my boyfriend had chicken jalfrezi 2hich he said was delicious.
I would highly recommend this place to everyone, even if you aren't crazy about curry

Helpful?
1 Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Upscale Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The opportunity to dine here, and that's what this place offers, dining, is not to be missed.
Amazing subtle spicing is your first clue to a great palate at work in the kitchen.
The service is welcoming, warm, helpful and just plain good.
Loved coming here, will again and again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing