We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best indian cuisine ever, good service, i just walked in and got an fine table but reservations are recommended”

Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,356 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 2nd and 3rd Ave.
Transit: 4,5,6,N,R lines – Lexington stop. E,F lines – Lexington stop
Description: Dawat is a fine north Indian restaurant that also serves a couple of south Indian dishes as well. Located in Midtown East, Dawat is one of Manhattan’s finest Indian restaurants that serves an eclectic array of interesting dishes.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best indian cuisine ever, good service, i just walked in and got an fine table but reservations are recommended”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

excellent food, good service, clean, well located. I've been there before and tried different things. All worth ordering

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ealv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    67
    12
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a very comfortable setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food... we had never been to this restaurant before and simply booked reservations based on others' reviews. The food was great, wonderful staff, and a very calm, well-lit setting. We ate on a Sunday night. The restaurant was crowded and lively, but the tables are not on top of one another, making for easy table conversation.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigband5309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, friendly staff, a great find in NYC”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We ate at Dawat this evening. Some of the early reviews were poor, but this place has it all together now. The Dawat special dinner is a great sampling menu of many of this establishments dishes. We also had the chicken tikka misala. All the dishes were hot, tasty, well presented, and then there was the naan.
Simply, the best. You can watch the chef take it right out of the clay oven. Even if u don't get a table in the rear of the restaurant where the chef is it is worth a trip back there for 4 minutes to watch the naan being made. We have a 4 year old and were fortunate enough(at the staffs insistence) to sit right next to the chef so our son could watch food being prepared. The chef was genuinely happy to attend to his duties and at the same time acknowledge our son.
If you are in NYC and are hungry for Indian food, and not looking for super expensive atmosphere or "the in place", then make sure you eat here. Get an extra order of naan.... It won't go to waste.
There was not a single person on the staff that we encountered who was not happy and cared to make sure that we had nothing short of a fantastic dining experience.
As an aside, the Chablis that was on the menu was a crisp, well finished wine that was perfect with the dishes we selected.

Simply, for nice, but still somewhat casual indian cuisine I can not recommend Dawat more highly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdfdcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just OK and we've definitely had better Indian”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I make it a point to go eat Indian in every city we visit. We've eaten Indian all over the world and were looking forward to eating in the Big Apple where we hoped it would be great. Unfortunately, despite numerous glowing reviews we found the Dawat to just be OK. There was nothing glaringly wrong with it...it was just blah and bland. I will say that the Naan was excellent, but we've had better Indian in our little small town in Georgia. The service was fine, the location was good, but the food was nothing stellar. The most disappointing aspect was that the rice was overcooked and sticky...If there's one thing an Indian restaurant has to get right...rice is the top. It's possible we were there on an off-night and we may give it another shot when we go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had eaten in this restaurant 22 years ago and thought it was outstanding, We dined here last night and are very happy to report that it is indeed as delicious as it was in our memories of the place. The service is wonderful - they are very attentive to your every need, and are helpful in recommending food. The food was fresh, beautifully presented, and delicious. We highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Dawat Haute Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing