We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak and service”
Review of Sparks Steak House

Sparks Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sparks Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #244 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues
Transit: Nearest Transit: Grand Central - 42 St (7, 7X), Grand Central - 42 St (4, 5, 6, 6X), 51 St (4, 6, 6X).
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great steak and service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were there this past Saturday night. After reading some reviews about the service we were a little concerned. To our surprise, service was excellent. Food was great but I would have hoped that somebody had mention about the portion sizes. Steaks were huge. Neither my husband or I could finish it. He had the sirloin and I had the filet. They were perfectly cooked and delicious! The Cesar salad was also delicious and refreshing. For dessert we had the fresh berries a la mode. Outstanding! Good mix of fresh berries! What a treat! Would definitely go back. A little pricey but worth it. We had a great time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alicea97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    304
    116
    56
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE - TERRIBLE”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I went here last night with old friends - it is a meat factory - it reminded me of when I use to take my kids to the mall and we would eat at the cheesecake factory and they would give me a beeper when my table was ready - the place was MOBBED - we went to the bar and ordered drinks, they were terrible - no vodka in them, - I ordered a Filet Mignon medium rare - it came out walking - I sent it back three times - it was the WORST cut of meat I ever ate - Do not waste your money here - there are SOOOOOOOO many other good steak houses in New York -

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catrina717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We recently ate at sparks steakhouse for the first time. The service was excellent. The bread they brought out was a yellow color like egg bread and was a bit dry. We got an appetizer of the broiled shrimp in butter which was outstanding, the shrimp were tender and perfectly cooked and the herb butter was delicious. The salads were very good: both chopped and spinach. But the main event was the entrees. 2 of us got the house special aged sirloin and it was perfectly cooked and possibly the most flavorful steak I've ever tasted. The other entrée was the broiled lobster, a four and a half pound beast. It was the best ever. Would definitely go back only downside was pricing but hey it's New York

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dbakeriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Superb steak restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Really good steak restaurant - atmospheric and about as historic as New York gets.
HUGE portion sizes, almost too big, one of the few places that have really got a steak exactly as I like it.
Service brisk and VERY NEw York ..

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too Overhyped”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Was recommended by a friend, the whole experience from coat check on was disappointing. Limited menu for a steak house, big push on the sirloin steak,I like a delmonico, not on menu. Average steak fifty bucks, with no sides! We ordered a caesar salad , warm and limp and dry not good, for twelve dollars, also ordered the sauteed mushrooms, way overcooked for twelve dollars, I asked the waiter to take them off the bill, he said some people like them that way, I doubt it. Steak big but not that tasty. The highlight was the Irish coffee after dinner very nice with homemade whipped cream, fifteen dollars each. I like a good steak, but for a two hundred and fifty dollar tab. NYC has better steakhouses to visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sparks Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sparks Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing