We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Primo Steak in a classic NY steakhouse”
Review of Sparks Steak House

Sparks Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Sparks Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #249 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Avenues
Transit: Nearest Transit: Grand Central - 42 St (7, 7X), Grand Central - 42 St (4, 5, 6, 6X), 51 St (4, 6, 6X).
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
490 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Primo Steak in a classic NY steakhouse”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I love classily decorated New York Steakhouses. And Sparks is one of the best. The steak in my opinion is top notch, the service is great and the atmosphere is authentic. I wasn't a fan of the creamed spinach but others seem to like it.

They have great lunch specials too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skych8ser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    302
    115
    55
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is infamous Spark's Steakhouse where Paul Castellano was gunned down in the Eighties.

Being a Mob Aficionado had to check this place out. What can I say? Very good service,the place looks like an old school Bar/Restaurant and the steak is big and just sublime.

I'd recommend this place just for the characters that frequent it alone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillSauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great potential but maybe not our night”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had dinner RSVP for 6:30 on Saturday night. Many empty tables when we got there. Waiter said the storms have slowed down business. Wine list looked good with several bottles in the $65 range. Room got a little noisey but we could carry on a reasonable conversation. Attire ranged from jeans to suits. My wife an I both had the Filet and split a baked potato and a side of broccoli. The sides were $8.50 each and the filet was $47.50. After reading previous reviews we asked that the steaks not be charred too much. We ordered the steaks medium but they came out medium rare. They were not overly chared and had good flavor and were huge!! The downside was that they were on the tough side and had what I assume to be tendons attached. They need to trim their steaks. Not appealing and not something that I have ever seen in a filet in Detroit, Chicago, Tampa, or Vegas. That makes it very difficult to give it a higher rating. Rolls were average. The potato was good but not as big as most al la carte steakhouses. Still looking for a restaurant that can serve broccoli other than throwing five pieces with five inch stems on a plate. Filet was big in size but quality was below Ruth's Chris or Flemings. Service was good but getting the check took some time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlGS455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The real NY steakhouse experience - loved it”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a brilliant night at Sparks Steakhouse on Saturday night last and I hope that I will go back again sometime.

I have NEVER seen a such a vast wine list ANYWHERE - fabulous.

The steaks were 'melt in your mouth' - exceptional. They are very big and most of us could not finish them - much to our disappointment.

If you are looking for a less expensive steakhouse then this is not the place for you but it is well work the extra bucks for the experience.

We had drinks at the bar first (very casual and enjoyable) and were comfortably led to our table but not rushed in any way at all.

Service was great too.

All in all - loved it and definately recommend

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, but Expensive, Steak”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had a late dinner here mid-week in October. The restaurant was full. The steak was okay, nothing to rave about. For the price, I expected a much more tender steak. The service was excellent, and the wine list was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BatonRougewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sparks Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Sparks Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing