We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we didn't want to leave!!!!”
Review of Ristorante Grifone

Ristorante Grifone
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Grifone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,218 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: btwn 2nd and 3rd Ave.
Transit: Grand Central Terminal
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good, we didn't want to leave!!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very special night celebrating my 50th birthday. Authentic atmosphere, food, drink, and service...you would think you were in a classic hidden gem of a restaurant in Italy. We enjoyed an assortment of fresh homemade pastas, salad, wine, desert, and....did I say grappa...! Everything was superb with a special shout out for the cheese ravioli. It was heaven on a fork! Mario, Zoran, and staff treated us like family, we did not want to leave, and cannot wait to go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grappa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Intimate”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Sort of a semi-well kept secret, this is a small, intimate restaurant that is ideal for good wine, a delicious entre, and conspiratorial conversation--I say "conspiratorial" in the original sense of the word--con + spire, ie, "to breathe together." That's because you will lean in, share food and thoughts and enjoy a lovely lunch (which is what I had with a new friend).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Possibly the best lasagne in NY”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a charming authentic Italiian restaurant in a quiet section on the East Side. The quality of the food is amazing. Can't wait to return and try their other specialties.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unfortunate mistake”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation for convienence and time expediency...so sorry I/we did. Lackluster atmosphere (your grandmother's dinning room circa 1960), rude, pounting staff and mean fare food at fine cuisine prices. NYC offers much better than this establishment. Don't be rushed or impulsive in choosing a restaurant-take some time and utilize a review site.

Helpful?
Thank redflstfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Upstairs to heaven”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were tired, and didn't want the challenge of Haute Cuisine and haughty waiters. This place suited us very well. Good simple Italian fare matched to a well chosen wine list. Friendly and efficient service, and the waiter was a good enough salesman to tempt us to a shared slice of excellent chocolate gateau and send us on our way with a smile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Grifone also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ristorante Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing