We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely all-around experience at Brasserie”
Review of Brasserie - CLOSED

Brasserie
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Lexington and Park
Transit: E, M, and 6 trains
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely all-around experience at Brasserie”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an early dinner reservation (6:30ish) on a Saturday night. We were seated promptly and enjoyed the services of a great waiter--attentive but not pushy, friendly but not too friendly. Don't be put off by the modern decor--at first i thought i wouldn't like it (sort of like French restaurant meets the Jetsons), but it is comfortable and intimate in its own modern and stylish way, and the lighting helps create that sense of intimacy, even when the tables are close together. The tables themselves are nicely appointed and the atmosphere is elegant, but comfortable--not stuffy in any way. Our food was fabulous and we didn't leave a bite--a tasty true baguette, french onion soup and a scallop appetizer before our meals, delicious lamb shanks and perfectly cooked sea scallops for entrees. A sorbet and fruit plate was the perfect way to end the meal. The wine list was great, too -- plenty of choices in several price ranges, and not so big as to be overwhelming. The manager stopped by once to make sure that everything was fine and you could see that the staff were paying close attention to the needs of their guests. Everything just seemed to come together in a perfect combination of great food, a great atmosphere, and wonderful service. Will most definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncmc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    128
    57
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious crab cakes”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We came here for a late lunch (around 2pm) on a weekday. Luckily, the restaurant was not busy since most of the regular lunch crowd had departed by the time we arrived. Our hostess took our coats and seated us immediately. There are several video monitors lined up in a row set on time delay above the bar to see people walking through the revolving door, so if you are waiting at the bar for someone to arrive you can see them walk in. We were seated at a large booth, I had the Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes with Meyer Lemon Mousseline ($29). It was excellent, the presentation was beautiful, curls of shaved fennel as garnish in between two large crab cakes. Service was outstanding, very attentive wait staff, someone would walk by every so often and check on us. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delish !”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We came into the city on a Sat night and had no plans for dinner . So we made a last minute reservation for 915. We went a little early to have a drink but were seated right away. The place was empty. Which at first made me very nervous about how the meal was going to be. Well we were pleasantly surprised. When reading the menu online , everything sounded amazing. We started with the seafood tower for 2 - delish. Then I had the pasta with short ribs- I was so full after the seafood tower but I ate every last bite of my dinner. My husband had the lamb shank which he really enjoyed. Service was great. I will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Xmas dinner with a twist”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found this restuarant on foot whilst searching for our Christmas dinner in midtown Manhattan. Wondered if we a little underdressed but they found us a table. As you would expect the place was packed but service was efficient and friendly.

It was expensive, but far better value than you would get back home on Christmas Day and no turkey in sight. Couple of glasses of champers, scallops to start, rack of lamb with rissoto for main, the lamb was cooked perfectly for us, pink. Pudding to follow, cost around £140.

A pleasant way to spend Xmas lunch, far more relaxed than at home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tremendous!!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Found this French brasserie using the Zagat guide, and what a find it was. Ended up going back for a second visit during our week stay, and this restaurant would be a regular haunt if we lived in Manhattan. Can't praise the food and service highly enough. Crab cake to start, lamb shank for mains, and chocolate beignets for desert, all unbelievably good. Wonderful chef, will miss this place!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rOjU_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing