We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amma is the best Indian food in NYC!”
Review of Amma

Amma
Reserve with OpenTable
Amma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #902 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 2nd & 3rd Ave
Transit: 6 train, 51st Street Station
Port Washington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amma is the best Indian food in NYC!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amma is a small, unpretentious restaurant that is easy to miss because of it's upstairs location. But it has some of the finest Indian food I've ever eaten -- in NYC, in particular -- it is outstanding. The food is well-prepared, inventive,and varied. The service is excellent, accommodating and attentive. Overall, a unique Indian dining experience -- don't miss it! ( Be sure to tell them if you want things mild or medium.) Lunch here is a delight; dinner is more extravagant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arty_woman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    106
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Never had Indian food in courses”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I read many reviews and since we were staying at the Intercontinental Barclay's we wanted to try it. It was only 2 of us and another diner at about 1230pm. The food was good but Indian food is not meant to be served as courses, you bring everything and let the diner savour the different varieties. Oh well, I guess to each is own, but next time in NYC I have to try a different Indian restaurant. We had the 16.95 3 course meal, the 2 young waiters were very friendly and attentive, that is about what made our visit enjoyable.
It's ok nothing to rave about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went here during restaurant week 2013 and did the dinner fixed price. Excellent food, very good service. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amybowie_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the best Indian Restauant In NYC”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited last year in fashion week having read the reviews and had an outstanding meal. Visiting again this year, took my In laws along too. The restaurant is in a narrow building and you enter via a side door which is quirky! The dining room is intimate and comfortable. All of the staff are attentive and friendly and the Maitre D runs the room well, once we were recognised as Brits the waiters talked football and cricket with my father in law! The Prix Fixe menu had a good selection, my starter was lamb in a sweet chilli sauce that was tasty without being overpowering and Chicken Tikka Massala as my main. The portions are a good size large enough to enjoy and they give you a chance of eating three courses. The wine list is excellent with good country choice and prices to suit all, we had an Argentinian Malbec that was a good partner to the food. Looking forward to going again when we next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clattters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an off-day, but 2-3 stars max”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not sure what happened, this is a generous three stars. I love Indian food and was very excited to try this place. We went during Restaurant Week, and to be fair, I sometimes think the quality of food goes down during this period. In any event, we had four courses, soup, hot starter, entree and dessert. The soup was really bad. It was a cold, cucumber-based soup, but it was very sour and poorly balanced. The hot appetizer also was overly sour with overpowering sauces. I had a lamb korma entree which was very good, the best part of the meal. My wife had chicken teeka massala, which was average at best (and dry). The naan was good, but the rice was nondescript. The pistachio ice cream for dessert was decent.

Also, the place is a little poorly marked - you think you are going in a side door, but it's the main entrance (I think). The interior is also quite basic, and there were huge stains on some of the seating. Cutlery was ancient. Service was good. I might try it again, because obviously lots of people are loving this place, but overall, a real disappointment today.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amma also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Amma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing