We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The finest restaurant I've ever experienced on five continents”
Review of Kraft

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kraft
Ranked #7,731 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The finest restaurant I've ever experienced on five continents”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Most restaurants no matter how good or how expensive fall down on one of the key elements -- decor, ambience, appetizers, main course, wine list, choice of fine whiskey, and dessert. Usually, if the main course is superb, the deserts even if they look like works of art are nonetheless a snare and a delusion. Not at Kraft where were everything was superb. Great place for a celebration. (My children took me there for a major birthday.)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow. That's all I have to say.”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

One of the best meals I've had in my life. Just go there and order anything, you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent fish dinner on Good Friday”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We ate an excellent meal at Kraft on Good Friday this year. I eat a lot of fish and I have to say that the steamed fillet of halibut that I ate at Kraft was one of the best that I have ever had. The starter and the dessert were also very good. I recall a very informative and relaxed conversation with the somellier. We all had a very nice time.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I and my two sisters and neice and daughter came from all corners of the country to celebrate my 70th birthday at Kraft. Unfortunately we were sadly disappointed.. First there was the sullen and surly waitress who acted as though we were in her way. She barely gave us any attention and when she did it was begrudgingly. Then the food was horrible. Expecting nothing but the best from the Top Chef judge we were in for a rude awakening. The salad was salty, and if that was not enough I ordered the duck that was so over done it looked and tasted like duck jerky! The chicken was merely ordinary and nothing to write home about. To add insult to injury, instead of cake with a candle, a plate had Happy Birthday written in frosting...NO CAKE! The only extraorinary thing about the evening was the unbelievably high bill we received a the end of the meal.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS OVER PRICED AND MEDIOCRE (AT BEST) EATERY. CALLICHEO SHOULD SPEND MORE TIME IN HIS OWN RESTAURANT SO THAT HE CAN SEE WHAT IS GOING ON. WHAT A SHAME.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissNatalie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Overrated and expensive.”
Reviewed December 8, 2007

Overrated and expensive.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kraft also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kraft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing