We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Named after the continent, not a moon of Jupiter. I think.”
Review of Cafe Europa

Cafe Europa
Ranked #1,399 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Named after the continent, not a moon of Jupiter. I think.”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had breakfast at the Cafe Europa, which was bland and rather poor- and the service was a bit hit-and-miss. Finished with a New York cheesecake which was fantastic and the one redeeming quality of this substandard restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapengro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    156
    60
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good clam chowder, terrible panini”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

been there few times, mostly out of necessity
glorified fastfood, not much food to choose from
soups and sandwiches are usually a safe bet
would stay away from anything requiring cooking or even warming up
panini I got the last time tasted like wet pancakes, not crunchy at all - couldn't finish it, even though I was hungry

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank igost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quick Service, Bland Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Cafe Europa is well situated diagonally across the street from Carnegie Hall, but it is nothing special. The food gets to the table rather quickly, but nothing we had could be described as excellent. There was very little flavor in any of it. The good news is that the prices are inexpensive, especially given its prime location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Crepes are good but food lacks flavor!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had the spinach and feta crepes with mushrooms. The crepe was very good but the mixture lacked any preparation, not flavors to speak of other than the feta cheese. My husband had the classic tuna but he had to add salt to it, he was not impressed! Kids liked the cheese quesadilla and penne with vodka sauce. Not bad but needs flavor!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RocNY_er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ideal breakfast”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had breakfast here most mornings on our stay in New York. A bit pricey, but worth every penny. Great service in a very well decorated place that was close enough for me to get connected to the salon's free wifi across the road. There was a great selection to choose from and it was superbly cooked and presented.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Europa also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing