We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Per Se Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Per Se

Per Se
Reserve with OpenTable
Per Se is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 13,489 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 60th Street
Transit: 1,9,B,D,A,C to Columbus Circle
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Per Se Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Dining at Per Se it's impossible to rate just the food--the entire experience is a finely tuned dance. Servers come out in unison, flourishing plates and revealing what is beneath lids. The meal is so perfectly timed and orchestrated that you feel like you're in the midst of a performance.

The food, of course, is the star, and star it is. Starve yourself before coming here because you will be rolling out the door. Each dish is small, but there are so many of them, you will be in agony if eat them all (and eat them all I did). The oysters with caviar was definitely one of the highlights, but each course--the squab, the fishes--was a burst of flavor. Dessert deserves it's own reviews. It started with a cheese course and then the sweets exploded (so many I can't remember them all): an ice cream dessert, a creamy custardy dessert, a selection of caramels, macaroons, and truffles, assorted chocolates, and the amazing finish of "breakfast," which was a frozen coffee with warm doughnuts.

This place is clearly extremely expensive and a once-in-a-long-while treat, but it is worth it. When booking, my husband mentioned it was our anniversary so not only did the menu wish us a happy anniversary on it, but we had an additional dessert of a darling flower pot made of cake and cream. Truly superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrown68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    190
    97
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

From all the restaurants we booked in NYC, this was the most difficult one to get. We were given a table at 5:30 pm, very early considering we had other booking for lunch. Given all the hype, I was very disappointed to find that they serve mediocre food. Maybe I came at the wrong day, but food was too salty for our taste. We complained to the waiters, but one of them actually snickered as he left the room. It gave us the impression that they thought we just did not know what good food was. Really rude.

The "original" menu came at $350/person. But if you want to swap your caviar, upgrade your beetroot salad to foie gras, and exchange your duck with a wagyu, your dinner would come up to a whopping $565/person. With wine pairing, it came to about $700/person.

For cheaper, much better food, go to Eleven Madison Park or Le Bernardin. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal there.

Plus point: They have a great view from the private dining room.

Will not be returning ever again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cintasejati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It was ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Much better than Eleven Madison Park, taste wise and service, but still doesn't compare to Noma/CanRoca/OsteriaF. We went to EMP the day before and was very disappointed, so we demolished all expectations we could have for Per Se. But the food overall at Per Se was nice, and they have an amazing selection of chocolates!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trailofcrumbs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My experience: $1100 for my wife and me. The food was subpar for that level of restaurant. Service was okay. Decor was okay. Overall: save your money and go to Eleven Madison Park.

Helpful?
5 Thank SATfromBergenCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very surprised it has three Michelin stars”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were very much looking forward to our dinner at Per Se, having heard a lot of good things about the French Laundry and thought that given it had three Michelin stars it would rival some of the best European restaurants with similar ratings. Unfortunately this was not the case. We ordered the Chef's tasting menu and whilst it started well with the oysters and pearls dish it rapidly went down hill thereafter, we thought some of the dishes were bland whilst one, the pressed chicken, was incredibly disappointing. The service was good and there were lots of extras which no doubt impressed the Michelin reviewers. However when you're paying $310 minimum (some dishes are supplements of $75 or more) for food alone, complemented with an expensive wine list, I would expect much higher quality and significantly more innovative and imaginative dishes. We had a much better dinner at A Voce which is also in Columbus Circle couple of nights later that proved to be a much better gastronomic experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank RicA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Per Se also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Per Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing