We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing”
Review of Per Se

Per Se
Reserve with OpenTable
Per Se is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 60th Street
Transit: 1,9,B,D,A,C to Columbus Circle
Oakland, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The chef's tasting menu consists of 9 courses at $295 per person, including service and non-alcoholic beverages. The chef's tasting menu changes completely daily with the exception of the signature items, like the first course of "Oysters and Pearls". It was beyond heavenly. Each of the following courses were executed flawlessly and artfully plated. Scottish sea trout. Poached Nova Scotia lobster. Duck breast. Lamb. Each course literally delighted me more than the last. The finale -- French Laundry doughnuts and coffee,handmade artisan chocolates, and a tower of chocolate truffles, macaroons, caramel and nougat. I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    207
    101
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect score for Per Se”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

From arrival to departure, our experience at Per Se was truly memorable. The food was sublime, service excellent and the view over Central Park and the Upper East Side is hard to beat. A great day, and good value!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzzaBono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food, exceptional service”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great food which was innovative and delicious all at the same time. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and the attention to detail was impressive. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank achandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal but expensive wine”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I took my family there to celebrate a birthday. The service was impeccable and the food was excellent. We particularly like the Keller signature dishes such as the tuna tartar and the oyster & pearl. The fish was prepared with a crispy skin and just perfectly done. My only disappointment was how much they over-charged on the wine. They have an extensive wine list which I understand that it cost a lot to maintain. However, a bottle of wine which one can get from a retail store was charged 4 times at the restaurant was too much.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pwkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Try the Salon-Walk In Perfection”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I walked in to Per Se without a reservation a few days before Christmas and my son and I secured a two top in the bar (called the Salon) after about a ten minute wait. Our server (Trina, sp?) was one of the best I have ever had, and the food, wine and service (not fussy in the least) were impeccable. The Salon is no reservations, and offers a scaled down menu--in price and scope but not quality. It is all ala carte and a great way to sample this very special place. Service goes late--at least this time of year--and so it is a good bet after an event at JALC. PS: If it is your first time--don't pull on the big blue doors--they are fake, and fixed-you will look like a rube. The entry is on either side of those doors via sliding glass panels. Just walk towards them and they will woosh open.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Per Se also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Per Se? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing