We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Good Food & Service At Reasonable Cost”

Nougatine at Jean Georges
Reserve with OpenTable
Nougatine at Jean Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #265 of 13,765 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 60th St. and 61st Streets
Transit: A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.
Description: Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Extremely Good Food & Service At Reasonable Cost”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nougatine is the informal restaurant connected to Jean George location within the Trump Hotel at Columbus Circle. Very relaxed atmosphere with wonderful food and service that are offered at very reasonable prices by New York standards. Reservations a must.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdocBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    245
    87
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Hampton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a great alternative to eating at Jean George, especially if a business meal. The menu is a nice selection of different flavors and portions. Very impressive wine list, both by the glass and bottle. Great ambience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value for lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited twice this week and had two completely different experiences. Christmas Eve lunch was fantastic, really attentive service and food was amazing. We ordered from the pre fixe lunch menu ($32pp) amazing value for such a great experience. Highly recommend ordering the chocolate cake.
We enjoyed it so much we returned today. We requested a table close to the window, this offered a great view but we also experienced the wind blowing when the door opened, even with this the view was worth it. The service today was not that great, whilst we were reviewing our menus, another table's appetisers were delivered to us. Another waiter tipped breadcrumbs over my daughter when he removed the placemat. This was followed by my entree (salmon) having a bone in it, not what I expected at a fine dining restaurant. Waitress apologised and provided an additional dessert. Unfortunately this left us wishing we hadn't returned for the second time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sterile waitress in a frozen setting”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Disappointing to four out of our party of five. Our all but absent waitress, who floated around as if she thought she was in a beauty pagent, rather than in a service oriented role, who when she was available was disengaged and seemingly doing us a favour gracing us with what felt like a superior attitude. When asked to describe an entrée she murmured a very vague description while walking away and removing glasses to the point where she was on the other side of the table and I had to ask her to repeat it. Zero eye contact and totally lacking in professionalism. The were long lapses in service, the wait for our courses was interminable, often due to not enough available wait staff available to deliver and do the synchronized placement. The lengthy description of everyone's entrée was a bit over the top, considering we all knew what we had ordered and were overly hungry from the long wait. The time for the lengthy description was when we inquired about the menu. Unfortunately the food was ordinary, uninspired and not worth it. The one happy dinner had an overpriced cheeseburger. If you feel the need to go, may I suggest a burger at the bar, which will also help you avoid the artic blast that occurs every time the door is opened.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MOBWestchesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, but....”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Coming from Australia we booked a window table for Xmas lunch well in advance. When we arrived moments after midday the restaurant was already busy and we were seated one row back from the window which was not exactly what we wanted but satisfactory nevertheless. What we soon realised however was that every time a patron entered or left the restaurant we were hit with an icy blast of outside wind which was strong enough on many occasions to blow our napkins off our laps and onto the floor. This was despite the management putting a person on duty to open and close the door as quickly as possible. As soon as we realised the problem we complained to the maître de who was very polite and apologetic but ultimately unable to do anything more than place a person on duty at the door. Having said that the food, drink and service were all quite outstanding. Ignoring the hurricane very few minutes this was a perfect Xmas lunch, but at $750 for 4 persons we were ultimately disappointed. If you dine here at any time you should definitely refuse a table near the door.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nougatine at Jean Georges also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nougatine at Jean Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing