We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Nougatine at Jean Georges
Reserve with OpenTable
Nougatine at Jean Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 60th St. and 61st Streets
Transit: A C, B, D, or 1 line to 59th Street Columbus Circle.
Description: Jean-Georges opened in 1997 to critical acclaim. The jewel of Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten’s empire, the restaurant offers the very best in fine dining. Consistently awarded four stars by the New York Times and three Michelin stars, Jean-Georges presents exquisitely crafted dishes blending French, American, and Asian influences. Chef Jean-Georges is a master at maintaining the essence of ingredients while using them inventively to produce the best flavor. Jean-Georges’ chic and intimate dining room was redesigned by Thomas Juul-Hansen, with striking lighting by L’Observatoire. Impeccable service, tableside preparations, and floor-to-ceiling windows with stunning views of Central Park and Columbus Circle all contribute to an unforgettable dining experience. Jean-Georges offers a three-course prix-fixe menu and two six-course tasting menus: a traditional tasting of the chef’s signature dishes, and a seasonal tasting featuring fresh market ingredients.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was hoping for all the Jean Georges atmosphere and it was not there. The food is good but I was expecting a better presentation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CAD411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    242
    86
    58
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice treat”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

my wife took me out to this restaurant this past week, i loved their tasting menu , especially sub $100 price tag... at a restaurant like that 5 course tasting menu with a couple extra complimentary dishes, it is an amazing price. also there was no requirement to match the tasting menu. my wife decided to go a la carte.

i strongly recommend their beef sirloin, and tuna tartar is pretty good. we also tried a couple coctails, they didnt impress me, cant think of the name now, but it was citrusy.. but their black-cherry yuzu soda is amazing, i mixed it with vodka and vola... give it a shot...

atmosphere was great, you could see the kitchen, and staff was friendly and nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fabulous food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great restaurant. Good atmosphere, excellent service and really good food.
We were a party of five girls and we all loved our chosen dishes. I was impressed that the chef made a vegetarian butter nut squash soup for me specially as it is usually made with a chicken stock.
The wine list is huge and very expensive but the staff assisted us in finding one within our budget.
A really good high-end NY restaurant . We would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdwardsLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great restaurant week menu and experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Came here for Restaurant Week dinner menu. Options were pretty good given such a high end place. We had the salad and soup; both delicious. Salmon was very well prepared but I'd say it's not jaw dropping. The famous chocolate cake, however, was definitely one of the best desserts I've had in NYC. Definitely worth coming back for. I recommend dress at least business casual as the ambiance is quite upscale and the entrance can be intimidating. Service was fine, no complaints.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeeTee54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first visit to a JG restaurant. As expected, the food was expertly prepared, small in portion, and tantalized the palate. Quite frankly, the scene was a bit overcrowded and pretentious, but that should be expected at a JG restaurant in NYC. We will probably revisit, but not anytime soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nougatine at Jean Georges also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nougatine at Jean Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing