We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Soup!”

Hale and Hearty Soups -- 56th Street
Ranked #1,859 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Midtown
nw indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Good Soup!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stopped in here while wandering Grand Central Terminal, and the soup was very good! I had the chicken-corn chowder and loved the flavor. It's accompanied by a crusty piece of sour dough or multigrain bread, or crackers. The sour dough was good. Reasonably priced. You're offered your choice of three size soups, and I found the small to be plenty for a mid-day lunch. Wide choice of soups from which to choose, and it appears they have places all over Manhattan. I'd definitely visit here again although, if you're at Grand Central, it can be really tought to find a place to sit and enjoy your meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hoosier46NwIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I could live on their soups and salads only”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is something every town should have. The soups menu changes daily. Every single soup I've tasted was delicious. And they have all sorts of wraps and salads and oatmeal and sadwiches... and even apples, oranges, fudge and brownies or muffins, healthy chips, coffees and teas and juices... i mean, seriously, all you need to live a healthy life and enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoorEssadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Healthy and Fresh”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love this place .The menu has numerous options to offer.I am a vegetarian and this is THE place for me.The rush during lunch hours is crazy and sometimes they are out of bread by noon.The seating is not enough for the amount of people that visit this place but then its NY and its Times Square.It is a god place with fresh food but a little pricey.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank explore_enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick, affordable, healthy, hot, and delicious”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I'm writing this in the summer and this is not a place I would go to now at all, but I assure you, once fall comes around I will be going to H&H on a regular basis. It's affordable, fast, and so so so good. It's a soup place, but it's also a bread place. I say the best meal on a cold day.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good spot for a quick, tasty meal”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We wanted soup, found this place on tripadvisor and off we went. It is a sort of fast food, with a few tables. The sandwiches are fresh and yummy. We greatly enjoyed them. The soups… well, it depends. Portuguese kale was excellent; Gumbo was not very good, tomato was ok. I guess in part it goes down to individual preferences. There’s ample choice and you’ll find yours. It is a great place to go with kids, because it is fun, light and healthy. We will go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefanoflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hale and Hearty Soups -- 56th Street also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hale and Hearty Soups -- 56th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing