We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spatzel ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallo Berlin - 10th Ave

Hallo Berlin - 10th Ave
Ranked #3,787 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: "New York Wurst Restaurant" Hallo Berlin is authentic German restaurant with all of your favorites such as Bratwurst, Wiener Schnitzel, and Spatzle also,an extensive selection of German Beer
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great spatzel ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having lived in Germany for nine years, I was pleased to find a German restaurant in New York near my hotel. I decided to have the Wiener Schnitzel with spatzel & cuke/greenbean salad. The spatzel was the best part of the meal! The schnitzel was a bit chewy and tasteless. Hallo Berlin has a "biergarten" feel and decent service. Perhaps roulade or Jagerschnitzel would have been a better protein choice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    31
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“German Beer Hall in NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went here for a quick pre-theater dinner, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and variety of beers. We had the five-sausage platter with sides of German fries and potato pancakes, which was plenty for two. The seasonal beer on tap was a grapefruit hefeweizen, which was amazing. On another visit, I had tried the wine herring and weiner schnitzel, both of which were as good as I've had anywhere. Pricing is quite reasonable, but you 'll find yourself running up quite a tab sampling the different beers. Friendly service, although a bit cramped inside -- more room in the garden and sidewalk seating if the weather cooperates.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABCWorldVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grubby toilets and poor service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went there because we were looking for a restaurant in Hells Kitchen were we could have a family meal. Being German myself we are fond of German cuisine and decided to give this place a try. We were given a quickly assembled table for five but the space was so small that we could hardly move once we were seated. A member of staff wordlessly plonked a few glasses and a jug of water in front of us and walked away. We were given menus and were quite surprised at the high prices for German sausages and Schnitzel mit Bratkartoffeln (fried potato slices!). Not exactly difficult to cook! Prices for dinners started at $18. When both our daughter and son came back from the toilets they commented on how unhygienic they were. My son complained, that the sink in the gents toilet was broken and he couldn't even wash his hands. That and the poor service (in every other restaurant we were greeted with friendliness and the water was always poured for us!) made us decide to leave without ordering a meal there. It's not like we can't pour our own water but at those prices we would at least expect good friendly service and definitely fully functioning, clean restrooms! No wonder this restaurant did not get an A grade! To leave was the best decision we ever made!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bornbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hallo Berlin Hells kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very authentic German food and beer, just like I used to get in Germany. Service was great. Fast and friendly. Food was very expensive even for New York City.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jfinney5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A quick lunch meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

OK first off this is no Michelin star establishment but the food is decent and the beer is good. I had he beef goulash with lovely mashed potato. I nice unpretentious place with good friendly service... Even in German!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SJCWHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallo Berlin - 10th Ave also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hallo Berlin - 10th Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing