We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of France in Manhattan”

Petrossian Cafe & Boutique
Ranked #1,338 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Russian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Taste of France in Manhattan”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This cafe, which is within a stone's throw of the Petrossian Restaurant in NYC, offers bakery items and other sweets for take-out, a cafe area for beverages and light meals, and a small boutique selection. The croissants taste like you're in France -- or as close as you're likely to get in the US. If you're looking for something special like a caviar spoon, Petrossian Cafe might have just what you need.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Metermaid608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    54
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Next door to the famous place”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Since the spring of 2012 I’ve been looking for a place similar to the late great Lou’s Café. I want a place where I can get a light pre-theatre meal that won’t have me dozing off in the second act (from the food, the show may make me doze anyway.) But I want real food and a couple glasses of wine in a quiet, adult atmosphere… not a burger or diner food. I’ve “auditioned” almost two dozen places and so far the Petrossian Boutique & Café has the highest marks.

The café has 8 small tables (total seating 18) on a balcony above the bakery. The menu is limited but has many interesting choices. I had the smoked salmon bagel with cream cheese, red onion, tomato and capers, which is as close to Lou’s wonderful “Tower of Bagel” as the menu offered. It was very good. The wine list is also very limited, offering only 3 wines (by glass or bottle) and 1 champagne. I ordered the sancerre, which was quite good.

For dessert one is invited to step downstairs and choose from the bakery items. After 6:00 PM this selection was somewhat limited but I scored the last chocolate chip/pecan cookie which was about 5 inches in diameter by 5/8 inch thick. It was very tasty though my taste buds would have liked something more purely chocolate. The coffee came in a 2-cup pot and was very good.

The service was friendly but somewhat spotty. The only waiter was tending to all of the tables and tended to get disorganized. The meal was delivered in good time, but I had to ask him twice for a second glass of wine and then it took him another ten minutes to bring it. The second glass was about 20% larger than the first. To be fair, he was probably competing with wait staff from the famous Petrossian which shares the same bar & kitchen. The dessert and coffee was very promptly delivered by the waitress from the bakery.

I still have a few more places to audition, but I’ll go back to the Petrossian Boutique & Café. There are still those other tempting items on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of best restaurants in midtown”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The food is amazing, as is the decor anmd ambiance and service. It is the perfect Russian dinner if going to Carnegie Hall or special occasion

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet breakfast spot”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading reviews, came for the croissants - which definitely lived up to their reviews. The European style café has table service in a cozy mezzanine seating area, with cloth covered tables. Service was attentive (weekday, about 8:00 a.m.). A great respite from some of the more bustling breakfast spots in the neighborhood. Take time to look at the historic Alwyn Court Building that houses the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Truly great pastries”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We came Saturday morning about 9am hoping to have a meal in the cafe. All tables were seated and we were told it would likely be a 30-40 min wait, so we picked a series of pasties to eat en route. Easily the best pasties we've enjoyed this side of Paris! But do go early to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrossian Cafe & Boutique also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Petrossian Cafe & Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing