We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet restaurant (weekend) with fine food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie 8 1/2

Brasserie 8 1/2
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie 8 1/2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #448 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th & 6th Ave.
Transit: SUBWAY F at 57th Street or E at 53rd & 5th Avenue N and R on 59th Street and 5th Avenue
Description: Brasserie 8 1/2 is a fine dining French restaurant bistro and bar located in Midtown NYC serving lunch, dinner and Sunday brunch buffet. Catering available.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A quiet restaurant (weekend) with fine food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were attracted by a promotion of small plates + cocktail for $17.89 in the run-up to Bastille Day. Two of us had expected to share three small plates, but that was not allowed according to our obsequious waitress. So I had a terrific coq au vin which had Chanterelles in it much to my surprise and, other than being salty, was excellent. My companion had the short ribs; also excellent. The half bottle of Crozes Hermitage (Guigal) was a terrific accompaniment. We've been here a number of times and will return. The store has a $38 prix-fixe menu with a $22 additional if one wants a flight of nice wines with it, apparently all the time, so Restaurant Week is not the only time to try this restaurant out (though the RW menu is a bit larger).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker10458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    117
    31
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Always a special evening when you dine here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This beautiful restaurant makes it feel like you're celebrating something even when you're not. Although there is a lovely $39 prix fix dinner, the regular menu offers many delicious choices. Their Seafood Tower that feeds 2-3 people is fantastic as are the Mussels with Frites and a perfect Bronzino. If you are in luck you will have Scott as your waiter who will add to your perfect evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good selection of breakfast items available. As it is a French based cuisine, I think the lack of a selection of cheeses let the theme down a little bit, also, would live to see a more variety of lunch too. We were there at 13:00 so not so much keen to have eggs or omelettes. Great ambiance though. A bit pricey too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank niceguywlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great midtown restaurant, classic French fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Super service from bartender to waitstaff. Menu full of the classics. Appears to be more set up for the workday crowd than weekends as the restaurant was very quiet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schusschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I really enjoyed the brunch at this place. Cool building where you walk down a big circular staircase into the lower level. Brunch did not have a TON of selections but more than enough to fill your plate with various breakfast, lunch, and dessert items. I found the dessert to be particularly good - all different kinds of cakes and warm, melty chocolate chip cookies. The mac and cheese was fabulous. Vanilla French toast and eggs benedict were also quite good. I wasn't completely blown away and wouldn't say that it was the fanciest or best tasting brunch I've EVER had but it was certainly very good and I would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kkolodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 8 1/2 also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie 8 1/2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing