We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lincoln Center Dining”
Review of Il Violino

Il Violino
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Violino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,760 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: West 68th Street
Transit: 1, 2, 3, B & C trains to 72nd Street, and the 1 train to 66th Street.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good Lincoln Center Dining”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is not a high end place but the food is good, the service attentive and it's not hard to get a table. We had early concert tickets at Philharmonic Hall on a Wednesday evening. At 5:00 PM we had our choice of tables. We like to sit on the glass enclosed porch and watch the passing parade along Columbus Avenue. My husband always orders veal parm. I had the veal medallions. Both were tasty. We split a salad, one glass of wine and the bill was $77.00.without a tip. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snoopysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    98
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A really Good Find”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were headed to the Lincoln Plaza Cinema. Our movie was sold out. What to do? Well, we had not had dinner so we started to search along Columbus Avenue. We spotted this place and decided 'why not give it a try?" We were very glad we did. The restaurant is small but the tables are well spaced so one doesn't feel crowded in (unlike a much more expensive Italian restaurant in which I recently dined in the flatiron district, where one sat elbow to elbow.) It is nicely decorated and cozy. The noise level is low so it is conducive to conversation.

We each got an appetizer, a fried calamari and a grilled vegetables. Both were excellent. The calamari was crisp with not a drop of grease. The grilled vegetables were delicious served with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Our entrees were, a good shrimp scampi and "Capasante" (sea scallops with spinach, vegetables julienne, caramelized onions, currants, & white truffle olive oil) Wow, the Capasante was wonderful. Even now as I write this, my mouth is watering! I intend to return often and have this again.

Service was polite, efficient and friendly. If on the upper west side of Manhattan, this is a great place to dine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful - right near Lincoln Center”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were heading to a show at Lincoln Center, and just wanted a quick bite, We walked in to a very pretty restaurant, and it was packed. The Maitre D who maybe the owner, at first said he was full, which he was, but went out of his way to seat us. And are we glad, this is the best pasta we have had in NYC. The salads were amazing also. I highly recommend this restaurant, and will go back. It is a little pricy for pasta, but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Delicious food. Quick friendly service. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eugenemoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great trattoria near Lincoln Center”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have walked past this restaurant for years but only recently had the pleasure of dining there with a group of young musicians. The menu is simple Italian fare with homemade pastas and sauces as well as more substantial entries. We asked for a brochette, even though it was not on the menu, and they were happy to oblige. Everyone in our group ordered pasta. My vegetarian daughter had hers altered to be minus the bacon. Although the portions were substantial, we had two young men with hearty appetites, and there was little left to take home. Service was friendly. We will definitely return to this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatKindOfDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Violino also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Violino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing