We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, awesome staff, choose your entree carefully”
Review of Asiate - CLOSED

Asiate
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hell's Kitchen
Cross street: 60th Street between Broadway and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1, B, D, A and C Trains
Description: Asiate's modern American cuisine features sophisticated interpretations of traditional fare that is accented with artistic touches, presenting one of the most unique dining experiences in Manhattan. A combination of gracious service, inventive cuisine, stylish décor and stunning views ensure that the restaurant is a hit with both guests and locals alike.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

So let me start with he good. The views here are priceless, the staff is awesome, the ambiance is very posh New York City. The fact that its in the Mandarin Oriental is a plus and location is very convenient for a day in the park.

Here's where choice comes into play...the brunch. The brunch here is not cheap we paid about $70 not including our drinks. It is a fixed menu and you choose your main entree. We ordered 3 of the 4 available and there was clearly a winner in the Benedict option over the others. I had the waffle and it was just ok nothing too fantastic, but the Eggs Benedict my wife ordered were delicious.

Overall a good experience and a great way to start a day in the park.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alexhatoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Dear alexhatoum,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your time with us at Asiate. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016

My husband goes to Asiate about once a month for lunch, and I often join him (the prix fixe is an excellent value), but we recently went for our first dinner there with out of town friends. It is rare that a restaurant with stunning views has stunning food, but Asiate is that rare place. Dishes are beautifully prepared and presented (scallops, steak tartare and any of their pasta dishes are among my favorites), the service is excellent but not obtrusive, and the spacing of tables and moderate noise level make conversation easy. Always a lovely experience, for lunch or dinner, whether a tourist or local.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Dear Erica M,

We truly appreciate the time you took to share your dining experience with us at Asiate. It is a pleasure to hear your kind words about our views, cuisine, and service. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016

The room is lovely and the staff is accommodating. The menu is limited if you are not a fish lover. The bread is very good which works well because you wait a very long time for food to come to the table. Between 60 and 75 minutes for food to arrive.
I was quite surprised by the prix fixe menu – select 3 courses for approx $100. The first course was white asparagus – 1 ½ asparagus served – they were split down the middle so it looks like 3 but its only 1 ½ per serving – really – not a joke.
The second course was even more bizarre – I had lamb – which were 2 little cubes of cold meat on a plate with random sauces which made no sense whatsoever. There was also a role of fat which was also cold. There was also a single spring vegetable on the plate – stick to the bread!
I was with a group of 8 people and people really enjoyed the steak – a few thin slices of very good beef. The best dish by far was the kids hot dog – it was excellent and it was served hot. The French fries were also hot – it was the only dish served hot. It was excellent and loved by my son.
The deserts were fantastic – each one better than the next – the chefs who prepare the entrees should learn from the pastry chef.
It is expensive- you are paying for the room, the view and the bread – cant recommend anything on the menu – very disappointing and very expensive.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RR22RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Dear RR22RR,

Many thanks for taking a moment to write about your experience with us at Asiate. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed some elements of your dinner, we are sorry to learn that the cuisine did not live up to your expectations or those that we strive to provide our guests. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We invite you to reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

A great place for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Food and presentation is spot on. Basically, if you don't like this place you don't like life!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Dear James C,

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us at Asiate and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Decent food and a wait staff that while not rude didn't make for a great experience (same said about the manager that was on duty). This is the third Mandarin Oriental restaurant I've eaten at and by far the bottom of the three, I expected much better.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank askmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Asiate, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Dear Michael P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your dining experience with us at Asiate. While we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal, we are sorry to hear that the service you received did not live up to your expectations or those that we strive to provide our guests. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We invite you to reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asiate also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.