We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view and good food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asiate

Asiate
Reserve with OpenTable
Asiate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #205 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 60th Street between Broadway and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1, B, D, A and C Trains
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Wonderful, attentive staff as well as fabulous food. I was there on a business trip and enjoyed a great lunch. the steak was cooked to perfection. I loved it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VentiMutati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    222
    89
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Extraordinary view, service and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I start with the not so good part, my dessert tasted old fridge and that takes away one star. It is really a pity because everything else was just fantastic this evening. Got a table with a spectacular view, service was impeccable, the starters and entrees really really good. You pay top dollar but for this ambition and quality it is actually good value.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terserus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a long way to go for such a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I found this restaurant while planning our trip to New York over New Year. This was the first dinner reservation we had in the city and was the one I was most looking forward to - central park views, incredible food, Mandarin Oriental....but it was such a let down.

Firstly, we found the service quite slow and not very special. For such an expensive, high end restaurant we expected more. No help or suggestions with the menus, very little interaction (until it came to tip time...which I found incredibly crass for such an establishment) and no real feeling of making the experience 'special'.

The wine list was overpriced. Not to be unexpected, but not really necessary.

The food was the biggest let-down for us. We ordered the three course prix fixe menu. Our starters were ok. We were looking forward to tasting Wagyu beef for the first time, and paid the supplement, but it just rather bland and the accompaniments weren't quite right. The deserts however, were atrocious. So awful we couldn't eat them.

All in all, a very disappointing night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amy_davidson_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be in NYC during the first big snow of the winter. We were seated with a stunning view of a snow covered Central Park which was definitely the icing on the cake.
The Prix Fixe lunch menu was a fantastic value for the quality and quantity of food.
I cannot say enough about how delicious the meal was. The presentation was beautiful, the service was attentive. All things worked together for a great, memorable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Funfabfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They have to review somethings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Asiate is,of course, one of the best restaurants in NYC.
I've been to this restaurant two times, and also this year i decided to visit it.
Let's begin saying that if i go to asiate i do also for the panoramic view they have:initially they assigned to me a table without a view;After some discussion i got a table with a Central park view.
The cousine was well-curated and good, but nothing particularly exciting.
The menu was similar to 3 years ago.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrBoo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asiate also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Asiate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing