We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mandarin Oriental does not deserve such a bad service”
Review of Asiate

Asiate
Reserve with OpenTable
Asiate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 60th Street between Broadway and 9th Avenue
Transit: 1, B, D, A and C Trains
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mandarin Oriental does not deserve such a bad service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The service was very poor.
I had a business lunch with a scholar of wine. The sommelier was not even there. The waitress had no idea about the wine list. We were left alone by leaving the food too long in our table. They poored tap water on top of our Pellegrino and nobody replaced the bottle. Coffee was served before dessert, etc, etc, etc.
As a summary, very poor service for the price you pay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacharanmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    222
    91
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
199 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Perfect brunch!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The brunch on weekends is great, food is superb, service is perfect, the price is fair for the quality and... the view of NYC is awesome! It is one of New York's most beautiful restaurants, I imagine having dinner there must be a great experience too, will do it next time. Do make a reservation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernandoHermanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
“Amazing views only surpassed by the amazing staff”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent the year trying to decide where to propose to my girlfriend. In the end I narrowed it down to the Asiate and Central Park.

I contacted The Asiate several times and they could not be more helpful. In the end I chose Central Park as I wanted it to be a private moment between us.

I decided to celebrate in the Asiate after with dinner and I am so glad I did. Even though we decided not to get engaged there they had saved us a seat next to the window and all I can say is wow. The views are breathtaking!

The staff were so attentive and I found the prices very reasonable for what you are getting. They even presented us with a special "congratulations" dessert.

I have travelled the world and The Asiate is definately the finest restaurant I have been to and the staff were amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abbottcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome view... Good food!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The view is fantastic... The food is satisfactory... We were there for breakfast and I was more than happy with the offerings. It might have been simple fare at relatively high prices and maybe you will get better food elsewhere... but the view is awesome and the service impeccable. If you are in the area, it’s worth a look!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justinw1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view in the heart of NYC”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I really appreciated the beautiful view and the food quality.
The three-course price fixed menu (only for lunch - $ 34) is convenient and delicious:
amuse-bouche, mushroom soup, atlantic halibut, chai tea panna cotta...I couldn't have asked for more!
My girlfriend ordered à la carte: of course prices are significantly higher, but the quality is outstanding (expecially the tuna sashimi).
Very interesting and complete selection of wines by the glass.
Everything measured up to my expectations, I'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asiate also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Asiate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing