We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picholine Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Picholine - CLOSED

Picholine
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Central Park West and Broadway
Transit: 1 train to 66th Street / Lincoln Center; A, C, B, D train to 59th Street / Columbus Circle; M7,104,20,66 to 66h Street / Lincoln Center; M10 to 63rd Street and Central Park West.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Picholine Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice, fancy, great service and outstanding food. Expensive so reserve for a special ocassion. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they made a personalized menu for us. I thought that was a nice touch. Once awarded a Michelin Star if they had a chance to get reviewed again they would probably get a third star.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krivera1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    25
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, outstanding service, definitely will come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Got a late dinner reservation after Carnegie Hall concert. Outstanding experience. Tasting menu 3 courses were just right, along with a few complimentary small bites from the chef. We had the chestnut bacon pasta and sea urchin panna cotta to start; both amazingly presented and taste. Main courses were the skate and the chicken with fois gras inside; I must say the chicken was perfectly cooked and tasted better than the skate. 3rd course we had a deconstructed pecan pie that was better than most desserts we've had at high-end restaurants in the city, and an assortment of cheeses that were just a perfect way to end the night. The home-made chocolates they comp'ed us at the end were also some of the best we've had. The decor is pretty but a bit stiff, but it's a quiet restaurant for nice conversations. Very classy. Definitely would come back. Wonder how they lost their 2 Michelin stars in 2012!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeeTee54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Food Close to Lincoln Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food was solid but not extraordinary. Location was great, right across form Lincoln Center and they do a good job making sure to time the meal so that you can get to your performance on time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank larryAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great service,quality but small portions,expensive price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This beautiful restaurant is romantic and expensive. The quality of the food and service were first rate but at these pieces I expected not to leave hungry. The tender rib eye (eye of I think) was about the size of a quarter. The cheese cart was excellent but portions again were tiny.We were very disappointed not to find a really good reasonably priced wine. The patron at the next table had some sort of game which was definitely larger in portion size. There are much better values in NYC

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rank: B/B-. Lower of the Upper Class Echelons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had the Chef's Tasting Menu. Short summary is good French food, Although to be somewhat expected, some of the meat had a gamey aftertaste that lingered which wasn't great. Fish (sea bass & cod I think) was a bit more overcooked than I prefer and I've had better duck at Chinese restaurants. The restaurant has an UES ambiance with the old theater crowd. Pleasant light pink/lavender decor inside. The backroom offers more intimacy. Not a bad place since I've eaten here a couple times, but if you are spending this much money, you may want to look at other options as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kicks_n_Bites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picholine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing